Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-10-03 - 4:58 a.m.

It's been two weeks since that fateful Saturday night - a week before the rock concert (October 2).:P I can still remember that solitary moment, when time seemed to stop and stand still. I'd wanted to write this sooner, but...well, you know how it is.:P Other things always get in the way.

At last, here we are. No distractions.

A week before the rock concert, I watched "Resident Evil:After Life" with Gigi, Uthie, and Uthie's sister Chacha in Blok M. The movie was...well, okay. Despite 'Wonderhunk' Wentworth Miller and the Matrix-like special-effects, it was lack of zombies in real action.:P Plus, the projector had gone dead in the middle that I personally had to storm outside the door to notify the gatekeepers about it before the audience might've started lashing out and thrashed the place. Believe me, I've been living here for far too long that anything (like that) could happen.:P Better safe than sorry.

My friend Lovely Tony wondered how strange it is that people in Jakarta love hanging out at 7-11.*big evil grin* "It's a convenient store," he stated. Well, convenient enough for some people here, because by the time the girls and I got there - the place was really packed with costumers.

That was when I caught a sight of him. (No, not Lovely Tony.:P) I was sitting with the girls by the window, while he was standing outside at the parking lot. A tall, short dark-haired hunk with light complexion. He was in his dark denim jacket and jeans. The smile on his face lit up his entire surroundings.

That was when time seemed to stop and stand still. Praise The Lord!:O One of His Greatest Works of Arts existed right there, right in front of me.

Hehe.:P

The voices around me grew fainter. For a moment, I forgot my hot dog on the table - next to my resting hand. It was as if no one else had existed but he and I. The ordinary girl by the window the prince charming outside the store. The heroine and the object of her admiration. Any cheesy romance writers could start a very typical tale from such prologues.

If this were your typical chick-lit/flick, you'd get the romantic expectation. He'd look up at the window and notice her gazing at him. Then he'd smile at her and she'd smile back, trying to hide her genuine surprise that someone like him would ever notice someone like her. It would feel like a rare miracle.

After that, he'd probably walk in to find her. From there, the story would continue to blissful cliches. From the simple introduction, they'd no longer become strangers to each other.

And finally, they both lived happily ever after and their love story would become just another Hollywood romance blockbuster. Yaay.*applauses and whistles*

Ha-ha.*sneers*

However, this is the real life. I am not your typical chick-lit/flick heroine. I am just a regular girl-next-door who goes unnoticed - well, most of the time.*shrugs* It's not about being insecure, just a realistic observation to the same old situation. No bitterness intended, no complaints.:P

"Bee," Gigi's voice shattered my fantasy. Back to the real world for good. "Don't stare too deep and too long like that. He knows."

Indeed, he did. Of course, with that killer looks of his, he'd have the confidence and conscience that girls would always, always have their eyes on him. But that night, his smile was only for the slim, sexy and exotic-looking babe standing right in front of him. She had long, thick dark hair tied in a simple bun. Her oversized brown top revealed her left shoulder. There was a dragon tattoo on her back. The girl with the dragon tattoo. (No, nothing like Stieg Larsson's heroine Lisbeth Salander.:P) She was wearing black shorts that showed off her slender legs - something that I may never have the courage to do for the rest of my adult life. (Well, unless it involves playing squash.:P)

Of course, why would he ever really notice me?:P A friend of mine once told me that the problem with guys is that they don't look that deep - and I think I have to believe that. Especially when she was the real hot stuff. I knew that already. In fact, I've always known. That's how it always works - right here in my real world.

They left the parking lot together.

Again, if this were your favourite-but-too-damn-typical chick-lit/flick, you could hope for another encounter - a scripted coincidence to please the audience.*sneers* This is the real world and I may never see him again. As if I care.*shrugs* We were just strangers which crossed each other's paths for one night. Expect no sequels from there.

Still, it's never a crime to enjoy such a great view - while you still can.*big evil grin*

The Author/SBF

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!