Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-09-16 - 8:09 p.m.

You know, there are advantages in not being an alpha female.:P I'm not trying to cheer myself up whatsoever, but this is just my point of view.

I get to blend in the crowd and disappear (although not literally.:P) No strangers will notice me that much. (Or I simply don't care as I wish.*shrugs*) From there, I get to have my own peace of mind - even in the noisy crowd.

I also get to be the silent witness to my surrounding(s). I get to watch people a lot...in malls.

I've been living here for over two decades. It has changed rapidly. Some say it's people's lack of appreciation for history (alias old, historical sites and buildings!) Our documentation on that is also poorly managed. Social cynics say it's the business people's greed for (more personal) profit. They think malls are all (about) that. A flawless illusion of "the la-la-land", an entertainment for boring riches and penniless hopefuls (by window shopping), a normally efficient one-stop shopping, and a symbol of status for either wealth, success, and consumption at once. Go ahead. Take your pick. It all depends on what you need. No sarcasm intended here.

Okay, I lied about the last part. But I am also speaking of the truth here.

These days, you can call this city as "The City of Malls". No joke. There are so many of them that some foreign tourists are often mislead into thinking they are the only available source of entertainment. (Unless if they are true backpackers with "Lonely Planet" and stuff.)

So far, and according to my friend Big Bear, there are types of mall visitors. There are regulars called 'the mall rats'. Kids who hang out after school to pass the time - or play truants during school hours. College kids and adults who wait for the traffic to clear out or the rain outside to stop. Families who look for a weekend entertainment (mostly because the kids beg their parents to take them there, when all mom and dad really want is a nice, relaxing Sunday at home.) Couples on a date, and so on.

There are those who only come for what they need. Maybe they're not always that into malls, but they have to be there at some time. The workers at the shops and restaurants. The weekly/monthly shoppers. With the crazy, urban nightmarish traffic outside, mall is also the most convenient meeting point for those who wish to gather.

Last but not least, those who amuse my friend Big Bear so much. The classic, alpha wannabes. Those who intentionally dress their best and come to the malls - to seek audience on their overall performance. After all, isn't the world is a giant stage? And they make sure that malls are their public (fashion) runways.

Now, I know it's never a crime to dress from head to toe with the expectation to be seen. I don't hate them for that. It's all cool. In fact, some of them really do look good that I can no longer categorize them as 'alpha wannabes'. I honestly admire them. Of course, I am sure they are also ready for the consequences. Is it compliment or scrutiny? Does it matter? They simply enjoy the attention.

Still, I have to say about beehives and long overcoats, though. First, I can tell you're Amy Winehouse's fan. How many bottles of hairspray have you spent? When you go to watch movies, I hope you have the decency to stick in the back row.:P No sane people want to cause a scene in public.

Second, I know that people do sell overcoats here. I can see you look fabulous in one, along with your skimpy top, very short pants, black stockings, and black leather boots. I hope you don't go outdoors to soon, because this is a tropical, humid city. Check your map or ask around,just in case you forget where you really are now.

Cameras? Rolling. Action!

Oh, wait. This is just the mall. They think it's a runway. But then again, who am I to say? It's just me.*big evil grin*

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!