Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-07-26 - 8:56 p.m.

Thankfully, I've discovered another way of making (hopefully more) money for the family. In fact, Mom has been doing it for years. I wasn't surprised she'd barely noticed its potential.:P She is not as ambitious as I am.
You see, my mother is The Queen of The Crossword Puzzles at home.:) She always does the one from the Sunday KOMPAS I buy. While I'm in for the features, fiction, and poetry - she's in for that. She's that good too. She mostly can finish about 80% of the puzzles. She only quits when her eyes are too tired and the riddles are too hard.
Sometimes she asks me to help her figure out the difficult ones. When I know I help, when I don't I can't. Once I asked her if there was any valuable prize for that, she shrugged it off - telling me it was just for fun. She needs it to keep her brain functioning well.:)
I started noticing it last week. She said she couldn't finish the last five riddles, so I decided to give it a try. Surprisingly I could. I also noticed that she got the rest all correct. (No surprise, after years of experiences and practices.)
Then, when I noticed the value of the prize (a sum of pretty good enough money, of course!:P), I convinced Mom to send the answers to the newspaper. Who knows? Maybe we'll get lucky.:)
Mom agreed to try and I had sent it away on Monday. This is a good idea.:D Maybe we should make it a regular thing.
Oh, yeah. You can say I'm a quiz addict.:) Anything with interesting prizes will get my attention. If it's not too much trouble, I always give it a try. In the past, I have won a few cool stuff, like: CDs, free vouchers, books, and even money too. It cheered me up when I didn't have much, but I still do that sometimes today.:)
Well, speaking of that, there are more to come.:) I read that Cosmopolitan Indonesia (where my late best friend Pumpkin used to work) is having a singing competition next month. (Since I'm 28, I can still join. YAY!:D) They have three categories: solo, group, and band. All participants must be females between the age of 25 - 28. I'm not sure what to choose, but Gigi said she was interested to try out too. She suggested that we perform a duet for the contest.
I don't know.*shrugs* We'll see. With or without anyone, I'll still go along. That's me.:)
Hmm, what else? My still favourite local radio station 95.1 Kis FM is looking for new announcers, so I'm going to try that out too - again.:) I don't know. I just want to keep myself busy. I need it.
Another great news: I am not missing another Hoobastank's live performance here. Yes, people!:D My favourite rock band is coming again to my city. They'll be performing on July 28 at nine pm (which is next Wednesday) at Hard Rock Cafe, eX Plaza, Thamrin, Central Jakarta.
And of course, I have already bought the ticket.:D

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!