Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-3-21 - 10:35 a.m

"Isn't it a terrible shame that one's lack of responsibility at work can cause another to appear incompetent and unprofessional?"

Somehow, I've finally managed to finish all my CAE assignments on time. Well, almost all.:P I forgot to rewrite and re-submit the proposal. I may be a damn good writer, but that only happens in less-serious stuff - not freaking business letters.:|
But still, I have to make sure that my next scholarship application letters will not suck too much. Yes, I know that now.
I am usually careful about writing about work issues. (In fact, I normally avoid just even writing about it here so much.) But sometimes I can't help it. I know I am still temperamental and let's just face it, not many people can stand me because of that.
I helped teaching at another branch last year and it ended on December 17, 2009. (Yes, I even noted that down on my calendar as a reminder.:|) That very day, I remember typing my students' assessment reports on their receptionist's PC. I didn't mind them gossiping near me, but they weren't much of a help. When I couldn't print the reports out, I turned to tell the two girls about it.
"Oh, the ink's out," one of them - 'Kira' - nonchalantly informed, as if it had been no big deal at all. "The printer needs to be re-filled."
Okay. "Do you guys have the ink?"
The two girls exchanged glances. Then they turned to me and...shook their heads. I'd wanted to groan.
"Well, we have to buy it first."
We?? Believe it or not, that happened during work hours.*rolls eyes* Imagine that. I still wonder how much time they actually spent at work making sure that all supporting office equipments were properly set and ready. Don't get me wrong, I was (sort of) in their shoes before. I know just awfully boring it can be, but no excuse for slacking off.:(
"I need these reports printed out and given to the students in case they come today," I glared at them as I used my flat-toned, authoritative voice. (Trust me, I didn't sound good at all.) But somehow, they didn't seem to be that concerned. Instead, they looked somewhat annoyed, as if I'd just interrupted them from enjoying the hottest topic of the entire century. (Oh, yeah. Right, whatever. As if that were any relevant to your job.*rolls eyes*)
"Look, why don't you just save your file there," 'Kira' suddenly offered nicely, "and then let me print them out and give them to your students when they get here?"
"Really?" I hesitated, unsure. "Are you sure it's okay?"
"Yes." She nodded and smiled.
"Okay, thanks." So I did just that. I left for my next late afternoon classes.
I admit that the only mistake I made was that I forgot to check whether it had finally been done. However, once you've agreed to help someone usually means you're taking over their responsibility, right? And if you can't do it at all, you have to notify the old task owner back A.S.A.P.
Months went by until I finally got that call on Thursday at work. It turned out that one of my old students came to collect the reports, and she was mad as hell. Why? It turned out that 'Kira' had quit her job without either doing what she'd promised me or bothering to notify anyone there about what she should've done as promised. Great. She was officially off the hook and I am the bad guy. Thanks a lot.*scoffs* I'll never forget this. Next time, I won't trust people that much.
"Is the file still on your computer?" I told them the name of the file and soon heard the rapid clickings in the background. Please, God. Let it still be there.
"Uh, no."
"How come?" I could feel the icy fury in my voice. (When I sound like this, you wouldn't want to see my face.)
They didn't answer. "Uh, we'll look it up again."
I instantly notified both principals. They both were equally upset. Although I wasn't really the one to blame here, something like this could ruin the whole department's image and I was so aware of that. I still had to fix it. No objection.
And thankfully I had, on Friday. After this? I am afraid the bridge has already been broken. I didn't ask for it, though.
What a shame.
The squash practice on Saturday was okay. My first trial match went so so, but then none of us felt a 100% fit. (Probably something to do with the heat of the sun that day.) We called it a day a bit sooner than usual.
The squash athlete/coach behind the counter looked at me and turned to my brother who frequents the centre more.
"Your younger sister?" he asked him.
"Older," my brother and I automatically corrected and grinned. Oh, yeah.:P We get that a lot.
Still, it was nice to know that - despite being 28 - you could somehow make some random guy think you looked under 25.:D

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!