Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-12-26 - 8:30 a.m.

I still remember one short story I'd read in a local teenage magazine about a decade ago or so. Sadly, I forgot the title and the writer.*blushes* But still, I remember the plot. It's about this two-timer at the crossroad, having to choose between two girlfriends he's been secretly dating.
He takes Girlfriend No.1 out with him. While they're sitting side by side in his parked car - in silence - he suddenly blurts out the most shocking and unexpected question of the night:
"What would you do if I broke up with you?"
She turns to him in a flash, all wide-eyed with her dropping jaw. But then she looks ahead again and draws in a long, sharp breath. He is sure (and worried too) that she is going to cry any second, throw a fit on him, anything like that. He's preparing himself for that. Expect the speculated reactions.
After a moment of very uncomfortable silence, she turns to him again. This time, she looks amazingly calm.
She tells him that of course, she'll be sad. But then she'll do tons and tons of more worthy activities to help her to avoid feeling all too miserable because of him. She assures him that she'll feel much better after that. Soon, she'll be okay without him. She won't need him that much anymore. She'll be just as good as new.
I'm sure you could guess what happens next.:P I love her answer, and he is even struck by it he holds her instead. Yes, he chooses No.1 and ditches No.2, because the other girl starts crying and begs him to stay.
Enough said.
I also remember Dee's "Perahu Kertas" (The Paper Ships) that Hani lent me. The story had made me cry (especially since I hadn't been in a good, emotionally-stable condition :P). But it was really damn good.:'-) Kugy is my favourite character there. She's an idealist, a children's fairytale writer, and such a brave girl. Why? She realizes that she can't stick with her boyfriend Josh anymore when she learns she's falling in love with Keenan the quiet, eccentric artist. And when Keenan starts dating Wanda the rich girl, Kugy hides her pain by killing off all her spare time. She manages to finish college a year early and also volunteers as a teacher for poor kids in a slum neighbourhood. Thanks to her extra hard work.
Although Kugy makes another mistake by dating Remy while her heart is obviously still (and always) on Keenan, she makes a sensible decision in the end. She breaks up with Remy and returns the engagement ring, something most Indonesian women don't normally do.:P (I don't mean to be all sarcastic here, but I know my people.)
Well, that story has a happy ending for the main characters, of course. I guess that's why they call it fiction. So bloody typical.:P
But still, I want to be that kind of girl. Whether people like my decision or not, it's still my life.
Well, you can say that love is certainly not my favourite topic. That's for sure. A lot has happened in 2009 and I can't deny the fact that some unpleasant changes are just unavoidable. We can't always understand everything, so all the wonders - the "whys" and "what ifs" - are futile. We'll just have to live with it, whether we like it or not. End of the story.
Never expect for any prince charming if you were never born a princess in the first place. Oh, yes. This is the cynic talking. That can all be too good to be true, like sweet cotton candy that will kill your teeth if you consume it way too much. You're lucky if you don't have to go to the dentist after that.*sneers*
These days, when a guy calls me 'sweet' stuff, I just don't fall all too easily. I've grown skeptic. Instead of feeling all that "wow", my mind is constantly filled with questions like: "What's the catch?" and "How long will this sneaky little charade last?"
Come on, I'm not that stupid anymore. I'm not a gullible idiot nor a fragile damsel in distress. It's all too damn good to be true. Nothing is free in this world.
That's why I'm not that too excited when he does all that.:P Back to square one, a familiar ground. My friend Mz.D thought he might be the type with poor, stereotypical judgement about Asian women being all docile and easy.*snarls* She's been too Europe and met some like that. She said he might've fit the profile.:P
Me? I'm not looking for a relationship now. I'm still healing. Whatever he might be up to, we'll see. If it's true that he's just another stranger-danger, this is going to be one hell of an interesting game.*big evil grin* Let's see if I can prove him wrong if he really thinks that way about me.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!