Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-12-20 - 8:10 a.m.

"There is nothing wrong with having ambitions - as long as they don't become (unhealthy) obsessions."

I know that I shouldn't think too much about it, but I still don't get it. Why are there still people who fear those with ambitions? Is it their lack of surviving skills, their envy? Or is it a sense of aggressiveness in every competition that makes the not-so-ambitious feel intimidated or even - threatened? Whatever the reason is, there are still adults who aren't that mature in life. It's such a shame that they can't deal with (strong) competitions in a noble way, so they just keep on trying to make ambitious people look bad.:P How sad.
As if I care.*rolls eyes* So what if I refuse to settle for less? It's time to be more progressive anyway.:) It's my choice. I need that, because this is my life I'm living in.
Whoa, I hope I'm not sounding a bit hostile today.*big evil grin* Maybe it's the extra shot of caffeine. I am feeling kind of...hyped.
Well, let's just hope that the effect still lasts...even after the caffeine is gone.:P Hehe.*giggles*
I've visited my favourite local radio station 95.1 Kis FM last Wednesday morning at ten.:D Actually, I had arrived an hour early, but that was okay. For a walk-in interview for a part-time announcer, why not?
And the interview had also gone well, I believe.:D I'd dressed my best. I'd shed my scruffy tomboy look just for a day.:P I'd looked more professional, ready, and damn smart too (especially with a newspaper handy while waiting for their call, hehe.*big evil grin*) I happened to be the neatest-looking one among all the other female applicants. YAY ME!:D
They handed me a sampling script - two stories and a commercial spot. The familiarity made me smile. Thank you Dr.Pope Pius who had taught and vocal-coached me on Announcing in college.
I even stole an example from a female announcer on duty that morning. She sounded good on the air because she was smiling as she spoke to the microphone.
After the take, the male interviewer asked me a lot of questions. He seemed mighty interested with my English accent and my teaching background. I gave him my winning smile as I politely answered.;)
Of course, I honestly told him that I was still bound with my teaching contract until June 2010. (And yes, I do respect commitment with work.) It was a good sign that he seemed to understand, although he also said that he'd look at their new schedule next month and discuss things with their board of directors. No problem. I was already glad for their try-out opportunity anyway.
"Are you okay with working on late-night shifts?" he suddenly asked me. How typical.:| I know that I am a woman.
"Uh, how late?"
"We've got a 6-9." No way. All the 5:00 pm classes finish at seven. "And a 9-12."
"9-12 sounds good." I smiled again. "As long as I can sleep over here after that."
"Sure." He grinned at me. "A plenty of us do that here."
"Cool." Well, that's what you get for working in the media. I've had my share of that in college.
After thanking him, I waltzed out of the room happily, smiling at the other applicants as I exited the building. Call it my 'mean trick' in competitions. I had to act as if I'd just scored a goal or made a three-point shot.:P That should distract their focus - and confidence - a little. Hehe.*big evil grin*
Whether I'll get it or not, at least I've done my best.:)
I had lunch with the rest of the office last Saturday afternoon at a seafood restaurant called "Bandar Djakarta" in BSD. It was pretty embarrassing, because - after a few bites on fried gurami fish, fried squid, and spicy prawns - my face had turned all red and itchy. Damn allergy.:( I'd freaked them out pretty bad until the waiter finally rushed with anti-allergy pills, before my face started to bloat. The last thing I ever needed was a visit to the ER in Omni Hospital - which is just right across the street.
Thankfully, the pills kicked in quickly. I soon went back to normal.:) We did exchanging presents plus announcing our New Year's resolutions. (Too early, I know.) I've got Kate Saunders' fantasy novel "Cat and The Stinkwater War". I gave Leese an anthology of children's short stories in "Orang-Orang Tercinta" (The Loved Ones) by.Kusnanto. Why? She's one of the teachers who is so good with little kids, so I think the book is perfect for her.

"2010 - Be healthier, happier - with a more progressive career and be more productive in writing."

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!