Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-12-14 - 9:48 a.m

I recently watched a re-run of "Law and Order: SVU (Special Victims' Unit)" in an episode called "Trades". (If I'm not mistaken.) It's about a dead, pregnant blond woman found dead in a burning apartment that leads to a wealthy coffee businessman and his son. There's also this pretty, sharped-tongued lawyer they call Avery who's also a good college friend of the rich man's son. She's always there, especially when the guy is in trouble with the law. From the way she's so protective of him, I could already guess even before the end of the episode:
She loves him.
It turns out that later Detective Elliot Stabler (Christopher Meloni) and his partner Detective Olivia Benson (Mariska Hargitay) find out more about the dead blond, the father-son crazy competition in getting the youngest girlfriends, and the evidence that finally leads to the real killer. The blond turns out to be a manipulative bitch who only goes for money, which enrages Avery that she finally kills her. When the rolling tape shows how she does it, Avery runs to the top of the NYPD building, trying to jump. As the guy she loves tries to persuade her to come off the ledge, she gives a heartbreaking confession about her undying love for him - that she is much better at treating him than that slut. But then, she furiously accuses the father of having hurt the son she only loves so badly. After telling him that he'll never hurt his son again, she suddenly drags the startled guy with her and they fall together and crash against a car to death. The father gets hysterical after that.
And strangely, I couldn't stop crying after that.:'-( It was so crazy.
I don't ever want to be that girl. Too sad, too scary...
My friend Rey got married to a lucky girl named Tya this weekend. He'd invited Mom and me to come on last Saturday night.
First of all, why do I say Tya is a lucky girl? I know Rey.:) Sweet, sensitive, a true fighter in life who loves children. What else? He's a real wonderful guy.
Actually, I haven't been in any suitable mood to attend any weddings lately, but I made an exception for my good friend here. Besides, Mom can't go out alone as much as she used to anymore. She's got a slightly damaged sight. The doctor had discovered that the cornea in her left eye was a bit...cracked.:( It was a long-term effect from her old (bad) habit of rubbing her eyes too roughly when they itch. (It's something that my brother often does too.) Laser shots didn't really work, so we're still looking for other opinions - and money too.
So, how was the wedding?
It was good.:D So was the food. (Screw diet, because now I've gotten used to having both regular exercises and - most importantly - portion control...once again.:P) My friend looked very happy and I thanked God for that.:) Happiness and good things should happen to good people, right? He truly deserves it. When he saw Mom and me approaching to congratulate him, he was all beaming. His smile broadened as we shook hands tightly I couldn't help smiling back at him. He yelled, "Keep writing!"
"I will." I nodded and gave him a hug. As he hugged me back, I said, "Please, pray for me."
"Of course I will." I don't know why I asked him that, but I somehow sensed a flash of warm understanding in his eyes. Maybe he thought I'd only meant Dad.
There was also another good thing about attending Rey's wedding.:D We ran into Fani and her lovely, two-year-old daughter Anaia. Fani told me about Rey's side-project for arranging kids' summer camp every year sometime in June and July. She said they might need more volunteers for that, especially since they usually go abroad too.
That's exactly what I'm looking for.:D Anything to keep myself busy.
My favourite local radio station 95.1 Kis FM is also opening a job vacancy as an announcer on Wednesday morning at ten. It's a walk-in interview and I am not missing it. I need the extra money, the morning job to stay busy or else I'll go crazy. Besides, I'm still young, single, and productive. I can do whatever I want and use my talents effectively.:P

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!