Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-11-07 - 9:46 a.m.

Wow. It's really hard to start writing again, especially since I've been busy for the past week or so.:O But hey, as usual - I'll try to recap it.

The first time I bought this month issue of SPICE!, I was so excited to see my name in their contributor's list.:D YAY! I know that means they've accepted and published my short story again (after the previous third piece some time ago.)

But to my dismay, when I opened the page to have a look on my story - I got the most unexpected shock.

First of all, it really is my story. The title is "Perubahan Rencana" (A Change of Plans). The story is very personal, because...umm, it's actually a nonfiction. It's about Red and me, and I really wrote it from the heart (especially because it had taken a lot in me to just do so at that time.:|)

And they put someone else's name on it!:O Putrika Anindyasarathi?! HOW DARE THEY?!! GRRH...!!:x

That's why I sent a complaint e-mail and called to speak to their editorial secretary Rini on Tuesday. She stammered an apology, claiming that the staff who edited my work had been rather distracted lately because she was pregnant and it was actually her last day before taking a three-month leave. But of course, she said I would still get paid soon and they would correct on their fatal mistake publicly on their next issue - right on their "Readers' Mails" page. Good.

And I hope they will put my e-mail there too.

*deep sigh*

Pitbull said that wasn't enough. She suggested that I come to their office in Sudirman soon, along with the copy of my originally unedited short story and show them that. That sounds like a damn good idea.

It's my story. Mine! My own!:(

*sighs*

I know I sound like Frodo with the ring, but I don't care. I am entitled to.

Well, at least my other article on my office bulletin "ILP Showcase" was published under my own name.") I gave tips to the other teachers about teaching using the audio visuals. Nothing new, just a slight improvisation.

Last Saturday, I went to the national workshop in Pancoran with the other teachers. There was this teacher from Bandung named Nisa with a very interesting presentation called "Journal Writing Using Scrapwork To Improve Students' Writing Skills". She was so dedicated in the project that she used multimedia and stuff, including interviewing the students. Although - sadly - the result of her research wasn't that satisfying (most students still say they don't like writing and won't start any :|), that was still a very interesting presentation.

What is it with Indonesian kids these days? Too much homework, too many activities, so little time, and lack of enough rest? Have we somehow overly burdened them with lots of demands and expectations and not cut them some slack? I don't know. I've been used to having tons of activities since my teenage years, but maybe it's just me. I mean, I've always been the overachiever, the workaholic. Call me ambitious, but life without any goals/purposes feels just...empty.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!