Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-11-03 - 12:28 a.m.

First of all, happy 28th birthday to me.:)
Secondly, I've been abandoning this blog lately.:P Busy? Yes. But besides that, the internet at home has been fixed a little.
So, where must I start? Probably from last week on Friday.

Last Friday:
According to our previous plotted plan, we decided to ask Gigi to hang out with us at "Warung Jajan" again after work. Luckily, she said yes. Our friend Shanti (who had no idea what Pitbull, Dee, and I were actually up to) joined us for a while. Dee had to teach her TOEFL students first until nine, but she said she'd catch up with us soon after that.
"I'm sure he'll follow her around again this evening," Pitbull whispered to me with a disgusted look on her face. I just nodded silently.
Even before we left, he'd already rung her like crazy while she was still in the bathroom. I noticed his name on her cellphone's LCD.
Then, when we were finally at "WJ" (from now on, I'll just call it that for short.:P), Gigi seemed uneasy. She was anxious, to be exact. Dorman invited me to sing on stage again as usual. Some time after that, Shanti had to leave early.
Dee finally joined us at ten. So did he.*rolls eyes The three of us could already tell from the way he behaved that night. First, he only cared about Gigi and didn't bother to play nice with us eventhough it was already too deadly obvious that he'd crashed into our ladies' night.:P Second, Dee happens to be the oldest among us, and he'd disrespected her by not acknowledging her existence there. ("Don't worry, I never need any special attention from a lame poser like him at all," Dee later told me lightly. "Guys like him just make me sick!")
And last but not least, he was lying about his job...again. How did I find out? Our conversation (or should I say, my attempt to make a 'nice, polite' conversation with him :P) just showed it all. Lots.
"So, any projects for year-end tours at work?"
"Oh, yeah. We have one for Bangkok." He avoided my gaze. "And, some kind of place in Thailand or some sorts..."
"You mean, besides Bangkok?" I raised my eyebrow suspiciously. Anyone who works for a travel agency must know that Bangkok is the capital city of Thailand. "Bangkok's in Thailand."
"Oh, yeah!" He was looking away...again. Busted. "It's..."
"In Phuket, right?" Gigi suddenly joined in brightly. I wasn't naive enough to notice that she was actually protecting him from my interrogative questions. "Phuket and Pattaya too."
"Oh, yeah. Yeah!" He was grinning, but he knew he was losing it. He couldn't fool me, because he could no longer keep up with his own pathetic little charade.*rolls eyes*
Meanwhile, I gave him my Chesire Cat grin again, anticipating the next round.
"Which travel agency do you work for again?"
"X-Trans."
"Which X-Trans?"
"The one in Fatmawati."
"Oh." I nodded, knowing where it is. "Got a business card?"
"No."
"Too bad." Gotcha, you creep.

Last Sunday (Pitbull and me):
"I've been thinking. What if she's already found out what he's really like, but she's chosen to stay in denial? What's the point in doing all of this surveillance thingy?"
"As sad as it is, there's no such thing as worthless effort - especially for something good. Why don't we try our best first and leave the rest up to her later?"
"Yeah." I am sad too, but what else can we all do if that is the case? I mean, Tiger's been right all along.
"Some battles just aren't meant for us to conquer, no matter how good our intentions might be."
"You're right."
Strangely, I felt calm that day.

Tuesday:
However, I was still curious about Nanang's real job, so I decided to do this:

10:00 am:
"X-Trans Fatmawati, can I help you?"
(brightly cheerful voice) "Hi, this is Renata from Travel and Living. I'd like to interview your branch manager for the administration department. Is he present?"
"Oh, you mean the branch coordinator?" the operator corrected me. "I'm afraid he's out for a meeting with clients for a moment, but he'll be back tomorrow.."
"Okay, may I know his name?"
"Mr.Anton."
"Okay, thank you."

11:00 am:
When I called again (this time using my deep, heavier voice I've skilled at past acting lessons :P) and asked for Nanang, I got the biggest shock of the day:
The operator told me he'd already resigned from work. He used to work as a - get this! - receptionist.
............................
Ha-ha. What a joke.
No surprise.*sneers*

To make matters worse, Gigi didn't come to work again, claiming illness...again.:( Well, at least I got her money from covering for her two classes. (As cold and heartless as it sounds, I was worried.)

I'm glad I've talked to Tiger again.;) I've missed him so. Sadly, the internet connection at home is very slooow...
I brought Mom's famous lasagna to work and everybody liked it.:D Good.
Somehow, I have a sad feeling that our previous dinner together with Gigi would probably the last we had outside work. He joined us again before their movie night, and still acted as if he still had a job at all. However, his story stretched too far this time when Pitbull deliberately asked him about tickets to Singapore.
"Uh, X-Trans is actually just for travel buses around Jakarta and Bandung."
Ha! We've known that already.
But after tonight, the three of us decided to stop this Nancy Drew's sleuthing operation. At least we've known he's a terrible liar. She's made a choice. It's time to close the case and just move on...:(

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!