Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-10-23 - 5:31 a.m.

The last time I went online, the connection suddenly went dead on me.:| It killed my mood too, so I decided to do a little "Criminal Minds" marathon.:P
I love that show.:D
Well, meanwhile - let's rewind a little bit. Something happened on Tuesday morning. I was on my way to buy credits for my cellphone when my eyes suddenly caught a sight of a neighbour's cute, tiger-striped cat.:D She was lying on the ground outside her owner's fence. Why funny? She was wearing a collar from a vet.*giggles* You know, the kind the vet gives your cat or dog when they have a serious ear infection they might want to scratch all the time. Just like what happens to George's dog Timmy in Enid Blyton's "Famous Five" series. Very funny.
I was going to take a picture of that kitty with my cellphone.:) However, as soon as I approached, she looked up at me and dashed away, trying to escape through a small gap under the fence. I'm sure you could pretty much guess what happened next.
Crack!
The moment I saw her collar torn in two, I had to run off from there before the owner showed up to see what happened.*giggles*
Anyway, I've finally let Mom drag me over to an acupuncturist's that same day. Why? Dad's been there on a regular basis and his health slowly but surely progresses...even just bit by bit.:) Somehow, she believes the doc can also give a much better solution for my...extra weight.:|
...........................
(Weight issues = a seriously, dangerously sensitive topic!:x)
"Do I seriously look that bad?" Honestly, that sucks. If some creep out there started poking me about my weight, I'd simply tell them all to just bug off.
But this is my mother we're talking about. I can never tell her that.:( I mean, I know that I've always been her fat daughter - unlike my sister. All my life, I'm constantly battling my own insecurities. I've been an emotional eater too and I am so afraid I'm going to start becoming one all over again. You see, sometimes what you did (or perhaps didn't do) in the past can still haunt you.
Other people can keep mocking my weight, but it's kind of hard to swallow when even your own mother can't seem to accept you the way you are.
Anyway, at least she'd chosen the right keywords this time to persuade me into trying a session. ("Don't you want to be healthier?") She got me at that.
But at the waiting hall, she seemed to have forgotten to keep at it, because she said this quite loud:
"When you and Dad get in, don't forget to tell the doctor that you need to lose some weight."
A few other heads nearby perked up at us. Instantly, I just wanted to disappear.
Thank you, Mother.:(
She didn't wait for my rather cryptic response. (I guess my own expression had silently said it all.:|) She left to get us some snack. (Ironic, huh?:P)
Dad and I exchanged skeptical glances. He shook his head.
"I know." I raised an eyebrow. "She can't accept me for me."
He nodded with understanding. Well, at least he and I agreed on something that day, which was quite rare.
The moment Mom returned with a box of cookies and stuff, she offered me some.
LOL!!:P
Since she paid for my treatment and the tiny needles felt harmless to me, I decided to go along with it. I mean, eventhough she couldn't be subtle about it, I know she's just being reasonable. As long as I can still do it, why not?
Good news of the week: my brother's finally graduated from college!:D And today's Dad's birthday too.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!