Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-04-11 - 7:30 p.m.

It's been quite some time since the last I wrote in here. Days seemed to fly.
I lost my one and only blue hat on Monday night at my favourite 'net-bar'.:( After that, I got a seriously early wake-up call at three a.m.
My very pregnant sister (she's due in less than 37 weeks!) burst into my room and said something about Mom and my brother taking Dad to hospital because of the stroke. G couldn't come because he had work to do.
And I vaguely remembered that I'd mumbled okay. Then she closed the door.
Somehow, it took an hour for me to finally register the message in my head. At first, I'd thought it was only a strange dream.
When I finally woke up, it was four a.m. I looked at the clock and blinked. Then I got out and checked my brother's room. He wasn't there. I checked my parents'. They weren't there either.
Then I couldn't go back to sleep after that. I stayed up in the living room, turning the TV on, and walking back and forth like your cliche anxious character in movies. When my sister finally came out of her room, she repeated her message to me and I just nodded.
Strangely, I still managed to attend the internal training at ten in Pancoran. But I could barely concentrate. After that, I decided to stop by at the hospital for a while. I just wanted to see how Dad was doing so far before I went to work.
He was stable.:| Good. Since most of the relatives and friends were there, I took off.
Work was a bit disastrous that Tuesday. I ended up crying after class - after all students had gone. I was very tired and worried sick. I couldn't concentrate. The good thing was, everybody at work understood when I told them about Dad. Jules even insisted that she drop me off herself at the hospital later on.:)
The first night I watched for Dad in 4203 wasn't easy. Dad kept wanting to take off the catheter out of his nostril. I had to drank black coffee to help me to stay awake. Yuck! And another stroke patient in the same room kept groaning and moaning all night long. It was creepy, because he reminded me of the late Grandma Uti years ago. She died after six months of stroke.
I could only sleep for about two hours. By the time Mom came at ten, I quickly went home. Thank God!
Wednesday sped by in a blur. Ignoring my exhaustion, I went to a local radio station to drop my CV. (Jules had told me that they were looking for a new announcer. She'd thought I should've given it a try and of course, why not?) But, to my surprise, they apologized to me - saying that they were actually looking for a male announcer (although Jules later told me that they didn't specify that in their ad. How strange.) Okay. I just shrugged, saying no biggie. However, they still kindly accepted my CV and said they'd let me know when they need me. One of the male participants that day walked out with me and jokingly said, "That was quite a gender discrimination, don't you think?"
"Nah," I replied with a smirk. "It's just much easier for them to find more 'talented' women than men."
He cracked up laughing and I just kept on grinning, satisfied with my witty response. Hehe.*big evil grin*
After work, I returned to the hospital. It was my brother's turn to night-watch, so I went home with Mom, my sister, and...G.:| Oh, well. No choice. I was too tired anyway. (I'd made an agreement with my brother not to let Mom do the night-watching, since her condition is more fragile.)
I know that most pregnant women are more sensitive than usual, so it was no surprise to see my sister cry when she looked at Dad. But G?? Ugh, he kept on teasing her mercilessly about it!*rolls eyes* Yeah, yeah, he was just being a guy - not an understanding and supportive husband he should've been. (And a father-to-be too!) How insensitive.*scoffs*
And guess what? He was also smoking next to her during dinner. What was he thinking??
*deep sigh*
But anyway, I was too tired. Whatever. I just desperately needed my sleep.
After election, I returned to the hospital on Thursday. It was my turn to night-watch again. Dad was mad at me because I scolded him for taking off the damn catheter again. I had to call the nurse to have it put back on.
Yesterday was Mom's birthday.:D Happy birthday, Mommy! I also had a fun trip to Bogor with my friends (a perfect temporary getaway from my situation these days!:D), but I'll let you know more about that in another entry. Hopefully soon.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!