Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-02-04 - 8:42 p.m.

Alright, this has just happened minutes ago...
I was walking alone, along Veteran, South Jakarta. It was after work, and I'd just gotten off of Jules' car. During my walk, I heard a man's voice behind me, getting closer.
"Miss? Miss, can I ask you a favour?"
I slowed my pace and a man finally kept up with me. He was short and a bit stocky. Since it was pretty dark, I couldn't see his face very clearly. But I decided to risk it and stopped.
"Yes?" But when he came closer to me, I instantly stepped back a little. Instinct, I guess.
"Please, can we talk as we walk?" he asked again. When he took another step forward and I backed off again, he pleaded, "Please, I'm not a bad guy. I'm just a working man."
"Okay." But I held my ground. I had to concentrate just in case. Unfortunately, he misread that as a sign of reluctance. He turned and sighed, starting to walk again. He was obviously disappointed with my reaction.
Oh, God! Have I done something awful?
"Wait." I followed him, but a bit slowly. "Why?"
He only halfway looked back in desperation and lamented, "I just got off the train today and somebody stole my wallet. That's all."
Then he just kept on, a few steps ahead of me. He didn't even stop to explain more, until he fnally spotted a head-scarfed girl standing nearby and waiting for the bus. Then he repeated the same process with her. I walked past them, feeling guilty.:( I must've really insulted him.
Wanting to make it up, I stopped in front of a food stall nearby when my eyes caught a sight of a uniformed police officer. He was looking at displayed goods intently.
"Sir?" I called out to him. The traffic behind me was pretty noisy, so I called louder. "Sir? Officer!" I started waving at him. "Hey, Mister!"
Nothing happened. Nothing at all. I couldn't believe it! We were practically facing each other - and he didn't even notice me. His eyes were still on the goods.
Frustrated, I walked on and shook my head. I'd just wanted to let him know that there was a man in trouble a few feet behind me. He needed his help. I couldn't possibly help the dude myself.:( What could I do?
Have we all become really ignorant to each other? The scariest question is, have I become one too?
*sighs* I don't know. That's why I'm still feeling guilty. You can't really help any stranger at all, if you don't even (want to) trust them...

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!