Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-02-01 - 7:22 p.m.

Welcome to 'The Month of Looove'.:P Oh, wait. Since Valentine's day is on February 14, I should say 'The Two Weeks of Looooove'.
Okay, I know I sound too bloody sarcastic about this whole idea.*big evil grin* Sarcastic and bitter. Back to the old, cynical me, I guess.
Well, that's okay. I never really celebrate Valentine anyway.*shrugs* Why should I even bother? I only love their cute-package chocolate. Oh, and also that flaky horror flick "Valentine" - about an ugly geek killing off all the girls who'd meanly rejected him in school. What else? I only wear black that day. Not pink. (Eww!) No way.
*deep sigh*
Look, I don't mind if the rest of the world wants to celebrate it, okay? Nothing personal, really. I'm just seeing a much bigger picture here.
The world is more than just about a coupledom thingy. No, really. Want to celebrate love? Please, do it everyday. You don't even need to wait one particular date for that. How? By start being nicer to people around you, even those you tend to ignore. Don't hassle all the singles - especially single women - just because they haven't found The Right One yet or thought about searching. (Sadly, that's what most "normal" Indonesian people do here to the single ladies.:| Bummers.)
And please, stop that freaking war in Palestine, for God's sake!:x I don't want to give a shit about who the hell started it - I just want ALL WARS to end. Stop treating religions to justify all kinds of violence toward each other, like a gang of thugs carrying out their group's symbol. Honestly, I just don't get it.

"World war's stupid
and people's stupid
and love means nothing..."

("The War Song" by.Culture Club)

Sorry, I've just heard that old song again this morning - and now it won't leave my head alone. It's not that I hate that song, though.
I'm not against celebrating it in your usual, romantic ways with your partner or loved ones. That's okay. I'm happy for you. I just hope that society (especially here in my country) can be more sensitive to the less, fortunate ones in the love department. The broken hearts, the divorced, the lonely...you name them. Stop asking them stupid questions about their status. If you can't give them suggestions or solutions, then just shut the hell up and leave them alone. Don't make them feel bad and insecure for being singles and old, as if their existence in society is only socially acceptable with the presence of a spouse next to them.:( I mean, come on. Do we all have to be so freaking shallow, minding other people's personal business that way - even over and over again? Give it a rest, okay?:(

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!