Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-10-22 - 8:05 p.m.

Last Saturday afternoon, I fell asleep on the way home. The public minivan I was in almost took me far down inside Bintaro! I jolted awake and quickly yelled at the driver to stop. Then I jumped off and paid the fare. I had to retrace the route under the damn scorching sun for a few miles in a couple of hours. Some walk...*rolls eyes*
When I couldn't stand the super heat anymore, I stopped by at a quiet dine-in around Arteri Bintaro. I didn't order anything but Coke with ice. (Fyi, I rarely drink soda - only on certain occassions or when it's just so freaking hot outside!) I'd already had lunch at my office with Lisa. I just sat there, waiting with my Coke until the heat slowly subsided as the sun went down. The indoor AC felt really good.:) They also had this pile of old books I could read for free. I just picked "The New Evil" by.R.L.Stine - the kind I used to often read back when I was still in middle school. (But I'm still a horror fan, although not as much as I was.) One of my night-class students simply lent me an interesting biography called "Jangan Bunuh Obama!" (Don't Kill Obama!) by.Hermawan Aksan. But I didn't feel like reading anything heavy that afternoon. (In other words, save it for later, I'd told myself.) My head was already too full of heavy thoughts. Selective worrying?:| I really wish I could do that right now. Especially since I've just found out that when Martin Luther King Jr.was shot dead, the coroner doctor found out that his heart had looked like the one that usually belongs to a sixty-year-old man. King was 39.
Wow.
Well, I spent an hour and a half online after that. I chatted with Patrick for a while.:) He said he'd just shopped in Senayan City for work clothes. Debenhams offered discounts up to 70%.
I still wonder just how my dear friend Patrick manages to maintain his good mood and positivity. The first time I met him, I'd only thought of him as this sweet, charming, happy-go-lucky kind of guy. He smiled a lot too. But then, after some time, I've learned that he too has his impatience with things in life sometimes.:P Now that we're both English teachers, we kind of understand each other more.
I blacked out for the rest of Saturday night. No kidding.:( It was the damn heat-stroke, I believe. Mom said that I could hardly wake up completely, so she left me all alone that night. I even skipped dinner.
On Sunday, we went to Dad's relatives' in East Jakarta.
On Monday, I checked the office for my new classes this term.
Okay, I've finally done my TOEFL test at AMINEF yesterday afternoon. I'm not going to fret about it anymore.:P I believe I've done my best.
Now, we'll just wait and see.;)

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!