Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-09-13 - 2:02 p.m.

"ME, AS A PART-TIME ENGLISH TEACHER AND A FREELANCE WRITER" by.RUBY ASTARI

My name is Ruby Astari. I am from Jakarta, Indonesia. Right now, I still live in Jakarta. As a part-time English teacher, I belong to ILP Ciputat in South Jakarta.

For my free time, I enjoy reading magazines, newspapers, and also books. I love watching movies, CSI series, and Oprah Show. Besides teaching, I'm also a freelance writer. I've only been abroad once. I went to Singapore when I was still in fourth grade. It was the most memorable experience.

I graduated from University of Indonesia, majoring in Broadcasting. So far, I've only been teaching for four months. Besides English and Bahasa Indonesia, I speak little Spanish, because I took a year of studying that language in Language Corner, Radio Dalam, when I was still in college. Why didn't I continue with that? Besides no money at that time, I also had no time and lack of motivation.

Why am I studying FCE (First Certificate in English) course? I want to improve my English and update my FCE test score. I also want to keep practicing my English while hunting for scholarships abroad. After all, practice makes perfect.

What are my major problems in English? Besides Pronunciation Theory, I sometimes still can't tell the difference between the real British accent with the American. (For example: the word 'colour' with 'color'.) I also tend to use slang words instead of proper English. (For example: "Word up!" instead of "Speak!")

What will I do when I finish this FCE course? Besides teaching higher-level, perhaps I can use my FCE knowledge when I pursue higher education too or hunt for scholarships abroad. Personally, I see this job as another interesting adventure to write about. After all, writing is my real passion.

How do I enjoy teaching so far? Just like any other jobs, there are ups and downs. Maybe it's from the new things and different challenges I must deal with everyday. As a part-time teacher, I'm also fortunate enough for my spare time to write. I also get to focus more on each class I'm handling.

What do I see myself in five years to come? Hopefully, I'll get to publish more of my writings and inspire other people from what I write. What about marriage? I hope for that too, but I'm not into the typical "Cinderella dream". I just need someone who can also be my best friend, respect me for who I am, and treat me equally. From there, I'll do the same for him.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!