Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-08-09 - 8:05 p.m.

June 15, 2008

Princess Leia: "I love you."
Han Solo: "I know."

Okay, you might wonder just why I start with these two famous lines from "Star Trek V: The Empire Strikes Back". Well, just keep on reading until you find the slight connection here.

Finally, the last day came. It was time to let you go. Just as planned, you'd be flying off to Hongkong first - and then to China for your summer school program.
I woke up at four. I thought it would've been hard to wake you up that early, but - hey, you came out of my room fifteen minutes after I woke up. You waved at me first before heading to the bathroom. Then, you came out again and looked at me.
"Uh, is it okay if we leave as soon as possible?" you asked me. "I want to get there early."
"Okay," I agreed. "But I need to pray first." Then I added with a slightly weak smile, "For you to have a safe flight."
"That's what I need," you said with a grateful smile. "A safe flight."
Of course, dearie. I'd pray for all the good things in life to come to you. Why? Because you're such a sweetheart and you deserve it. Besides, I love you - no matter what.
Still, I was very, very sad that early morning. (That was normal, right?) I cried silently in my prayer.
After that, I woke the girls up. I also woke my brother up too. Why? He'd already kindly offered to drive us to the airport. (That's why you kept telling me: "Your brother is really, really nice." Well, indeed!)
When my parents were wide awake, you nicely thanked both of them for having you around for almost two weeks. Then, the fiveof us - you, me, my brother, Hani, and Mbak Bina too - went inside the car. It was raining outside. How strange.
I decided to let you sit next to my brother, while the girls and I were in the backseat. Why?
I didn't want you to see me cry. I was still afraid.

--- // ---

"Ruby, stop crying."
I roughly wiped my eyes and stared at Hani. She handed me a tissue. I accepted it without another word, though.
I wished she hadn't had to say that out loud. Worst of all, she'd said it in English.
Ah, nevermind. Whatever.
We got there at sometime around six in the morning. Before we got out of the car, you turned to my brother and said, "Thank you very much."
Of course, my dear brother just shrugged. He got out to help you with your stuff out of the trunk. After that, he turned to me.
"I'm gonna park the car," he told me. "Let me know when you're done, okay? Just take your time."
"Okay, thanks."
Then he drove off, straight to the huge parking lot. Meanwhile, the four of us headed into the airport hall. I saw you take out your ticket and boarding pass before turning to the girls and me.
"I guess this is it."
Yes, this is it. I felt the all too damn familiar lump forming in my throat again, seriously choking me. My eyelids felt incredibly heavy with those warm liquids threatening to fall.
"Thank you for having me here. Thank you so much," you said softly as you hugged me close. It felt so warm. I automatically hugged you back and closed my eyes, letting the tears fall.
Please, don't stop hugging me. Make time stop for this, God.
You had to let go, of course. Then you turned to my friends and hugged them too. I was still crying my eyes out. I didn't care anymore.
Then I saw you turn around and walk to the door to board your flight, holding your tickets and dragging your suitcase with you. I could feel my two friends staring at me.
Oh, hell. Whatever.
"Nick, wait!" I called out, following you. You stopped abruptly and turned around to face me again. Your smoky-blue eyes went wide and then saddened.
"Ruby..."
"I've been such an idiot lately," I blurted out. I knew I didn't have much time, so I made it quickly. "I know that I should've told you this earlier."
"Ruby, smile."
"I love you."
"I know." You smiled so sweetly, before you hugged me for one last time. Then after that, we parted and you entered that door. You didn't turn around again.
I know? Okay, silly me. What kind of answer would I have expected from you?
Ah, nevermind. I'll just leave it like that for now.
"Good luck," I whispered, wiping my tears for one last time. Then I went back to my friends. They were obviously grinning at me.
"Congratulations, Ruby!" Hani beamed. "That's okay. What's more important is that you've finally let him know."
I had to smile at that. Yeah, for now.
Then a sly grin spreadt across her round face.
"By the way, you were very brave," she complimented. "If I were you, I might never have the guts to do what you just did!"
I stared at her in disbelief. Huh??
"HANIII!!!"

-finished for now, not the end (since I hate goodbyes!)-

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!