Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-07-14 - 8:08 p.m.

June 8, 2008

The night before I fell asleep, there was a slightly funny incident. Since Hani had given her room for him, the three of us girls decided to crash together in the living room. But then, I suddenly remembered that my cellphone was still in Hani's room. I knocked on the door and he answered. Then I came in and quickly snatched my cellphone on the desk next to her PC. He noticed that and nodded with understanding.
"Oh, yeah." He smirked. "I know you've set your alarm at 4:30 to pray. It's a good idea that you're taking it out."
I giggled. So did Hani. We imagined that it must've been really funny, but Nick was being very serious about it.
"Or else I'll wake up, take your cellphone out, and then throw it at you," he vowed. "Trust me, I can eat little children at five am."
Hehe.
Well, at least he could sleep well and didn't have to be bothered by mosquito bites all night long. Me? Oh, please. Just don't ask, okay?
I guess that was why I woke up with a headache in the morning. My sleep had been restless and all my arms and legs were itchy like crazy. I even secretly threw up in the bathroom because of my headache. But still, I didn't let them all know. I didn't want to ruin our Sunday plan by making them worry about me. I didn't want to freak him out.
I still made two cups of tea for Nick and me. Hani offered her favourite pack of jasmine tea. Yummy too.
Then we had breakfast. Yellow rice. He was chatting merrily with Mbak Bina - mostly about The States - because Mbak Bina had lived in Nevada before. Again, I enjoyed seeing that beautiful smile on his face again. In my eyes, it simply put the sun to shame.

--- // ---

The four of us had a long, fun Sunday at Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (Indonesia's Miniature Park), East Jakarta. I hardly remembered the last time I'd gone there. The place was - and still is - huge. We spotted so many museums and traditional houses in it. The place was also packed with so many visitors. (Weekends. No surprise.) The weather was pretty hot, so I hoped he could take it well.
And I was glad that he did.
We visited many traditional houses that day. He took pictures. I heard his most favourite comment: "Interesting" many times, whenever someone explained to him about the cultural history in each traditional house.
Guess what? We even got special free invitations to see a live music performance at eight that night. Was it just because Nick's a foreigner? I don't know. Maybe. I guess we were just lucky. Hani even agreed.
"Now this is something we don't usually get everyday."
"Yeah." But wait. My classes on Monday. How would I be able to catch home soon so I'd have enough time for my stupid lesson plans and show up early the next day? I'd lose my sleeping hours even more.
"Come on, Ruby!" Hani urged me in a hushed whisper, while Nick and Mbak Bina were already a few feet ahead of us. That's just what normally happens when you're a shortie walking with the taller ones. "This is for him, while he's still here."
When I looked at him, I noticed that he seemed excited. He was anticipating the show.
"You're right," I finally mumbled to Hani, smiling a little with my eyes still on him. "Anything for him right now."
Indeed.

--- // ---

How was the show so far? It was very entertaining. It was a musical performance from Poso, but I noticed that they had influence from India too. The dancers in the bright-coloured dresses and the female singers, I meant. And the music...it sounded a little Batavian.
The only thing that bugged him the most was...smoke. Yes, we were surrounded by heavy smokers, and he was obviously unhappy about it. I felt bad for him. I mean, I'm an ex-smoker. I can still deal with that.
After that, the four of us returned to Mbak Bina and Hani's by cab. I'd almost lost my pink umbrella because I forgot to bring it with me after the show. (Stupid!) Thankfully, it was still there when we got back for a short time. I quickly grabbed it and fled.
Since it was almost eleven already, I figured it was too late to go back home with Nick. What about tomorrow?
We shall see, I thought to myself that night. Whatever may happen.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!