Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-07-09 - 8:50 p.m.

June 7, 2008

Good morning, Sayangku! Are you ready for another trip today?
Well, those were my thoughts when I saw you coming out of my room that Saturday morning. We exchanged smiles and I made us two cups of tea - my new, usual routine. Then, our preparations for the day began. I lent you my brother's grey backpack while I was rummaging through closets for my own traveling one. We were going to stay at Mbak Bina's for the weekend as planned. Mom was already away while Dad was - as usual - at home. We only said bye to him.
Well, before going to Mbak Bina's, Hani suggested that we check out The Indonesian Products' Fair in Jakarta's Convention Centre, Senayan, Central Jakarta, and we shouldn't miss that. So, there we went.
But, as usual, you needed to go to the 'net-bar' again. That was okay. An hour or two, I'd still wait for you.
Well, it was the kind of weekend that I loved so much. (And I wonder if I'll ever get that feeling again.) The day seemed long and almost...endless. It felt like I had nothing to worry about. I've never felt that happy in years. Happy and...safe.
I don't know how to say it right. I wish I could just explain it better. You know, sayang, come to think of it - this just sounds pretty damn funny to me. They say I'm a good writer, but when it comes to something like this - I'm just lousy with words. Strange, huh?
So, anyway, we went to JCC straight away before visiting Mbak Bina's place. The festival was pretty marvellous. We saw batik, batik, and more batik clothings everywhere - from all around my country. You couldn't even resist buying one for your best friend Sarah (is it Sarah B. or Sarah R.?)
We were there until sometime around three. We'd completely forgotten about lunch until we spotted the traditional food displayed on the counters. That was when my stomach started growling angrily.
"Man, I'm hungry," I complained. You checked your watch and frowned.
"Oh, yeah," you realised and agreed. "We missed lunch hour." Then he looked around. I could already sniff the tasty food everywhere that started to make my head spin, but you said, "Let's grab something else to eat outside, because they look expensive here."
"Hell, yeah!" I totally agreed. I noticed a Rp 15,000 price tag on a small rice bun with meat and veggies in it. (Oh, give me a break!) I followed you outside the building. Thankfully, the weather wasn't too hot anymore. Good for you. But unfortunately, my poor head was spinning badly. Damn, I felt dizzy.
"I must eat something soon," I said weakly. My vision started to blur. "I think my blood sugar level is pretty low."
"Yeah, I can tell," you agreed, your smoky blue eyes full of concern. "You look kind of tired."
My bag suddenly felt heavy, but I didn't feel like asking you to carry it for me - not even for a while. I'm not that kind of girl. Besides, I knew that I'd be okay.
"Do you need to sit down for a while?" you asked me as I staggered outside with you. My eyes desperately darted around the overly crowded parking lot for cheap food...and a decent bench.
"Yes," I answered with a weak sigh. When I saw a food cart of ba pao nearby, I found my solution.
After eating ba pao, we continued our journey to Mbak Bina's house in Bekasi. I felt so much better until when we noticed there were so many people lining up to use the Trans Jakarta buses. I knew you were worried that we might've gotten pushed and separated. I felt your hand on my shoulder as you stood behind me. I held it.
Don't worry, sayangku. I'll never let you out of my sight that easy here.
By the time we got on the last Trans Jakarta bus to Kampung Melayu, East Jakarta, there were two available seats for us. We sat down. I rested my head back against the seat and closed my eyes. I sighed.
I'm so tired...
Then you suddenly shook me.
"Ruby, Ruby. Wake up!" I could hear a slight panic and amusement in your soft voice. "I don't know where we must get off."
"Okay,okay." I opened my eyes and blinked rapidly. Oops, sorry!

--- // ---

The four of us had real fun that Saturday night. We just ate, ate and ate more dinner plus the dessert. (Gaining weight?Who cares? Haha!) I just loved Mbak Bina's homemade pudding and ice cream. Didn't you too, Sayangku?
Then we had a long talk until it was quite late at night. Eating too much made me feel sleepy, but...no, I still wanted to stay awake while you were still around and awake too. I wanted to use my limited chance for that.
Hani gave you her room, while the girls and I would gather at the living room. You said you felt bad about having to kick people out of their rooms for you. Well, no need to, because you didn't. We offered you our rooms here. We didn't mind, Nick-ku.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!