Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-06-18 - 11:45 a.m.

May 2008 Sayangku,
My job training in ILP was pretty grueling. I hardly had enough time to do anything else, because I always came home late, exhausted, and with so many assignments. I could only breathe more easily during weekends. Those were the times when I had time to either hang out with Hani and Mbak Bina or...get online. I missed talking to you...a lot. I know we've both been busy, especially with your final exam week too. I could understand that. You told me not to worry about everything too much. We'd figure it out together.
I hoped nothing would ever get in our plan, I kept praying that. I hoped ILP wouldn't give me too many classes to handle yet, because - long ago - I'd already promised to show you around Jakarta. I'd keep my word, no matter how.
Also, I hoped my parents would let you stay at our place...

--- // ---

June 3, 2008

I showed up on Friday for the very firs time at ILP Ciputat at sometime around two in the afternoon. I was more than relieved to only have Monday and Wednesday classes (plus the alternate Fridays too!), for starters. Two classes only. Thank God! I could pick you up at the airport without having to skip work, as promised. I've also already known how to get there alone. I've asked Hani to come along with me, but she just teased me: "No, Ruby. That is your moment."
Haha.
I couldn't wait to really meet you, Sayang. I've told everyone I know here that you were seriously visiting me.
"Do you know which flight he's coming in?" Mom asked me the night before Tuesday. I could tell that she was still slightly worried about how determined I was to get there alone.
"Cathay Pacific, CX 777," I told her, memorizing the information you gave me earlier. "I'll pick him up at Terminal 2 at 1:05 pm."
"Okay."
I tried my hardest to concentrate on my teaching on Monday. Plus, I was having a flu and a sore throat. (I hated that!) I panicked on the way home and bought vitamin C tablets and a bottle of cough medicine. I didn't want to fall completely ill while you were around. That wouldn't be fun. I had to be able to hang out with you outside - not just at home.
On Tuesday morning, I got up early. I couldn't sleep well anyway. I forced myself to stay awake after taking the medicines that made me feel drowsy. Since the DAMRI bus from Blok M to Soekarno-Hatta airport leaves at ten, I must hurry.
"How do I look?" I asked Mom before I left. I was wearing a sleeveless, comic printed red T-shirt, a pair of black denim capri shorts, and red canvas sneakers. Ms.Casual. I even made sure that my short, thick, wavy dark hair was well-brushed. No scruffy tomboy attitude for a while.
"Good." Mom nodded in approval. "Go tell your dad where you're going today."
"Okay. Dad, I'm picking up my friend at the ariport today."
Mom just looked at me and grinned. "No, she isn't picking up her friend at work but Nick."
"Mom!" Oh, whatever. After saying bye to them, I got out and quickened my pace. Thankfully, I found a bus to Blok M. It was a pretty quick ride too. Then I took a DAMRI bus. It left at ten. I finished reading "Twin Eclipses" by. Clara Ng on the way there.
And I was way too quick. I got there at eleven.
What did I do until you arrived? I ate early lunch at KFC nearby. I prayed at twelve. Then, I spent my time just roaming around and avoiding some lecherous creeps who wanted to mess with me - only because I was alone and...a girl. Yuck. I couldn't hardly wait to see you, Nick-ku. (Aww!)
Then, I waited by the gate at one for you. I guessed there must've been a slight delay, because it turned out that your plane arrived at 1:30, but that was okay. (I spotted the electronic schedule nearby, though.)
When you first showed up at two in front of me, I felt that time had suddenly stopped around us for a moment. I couldn't tell why. I didn't even know what to do when we finally stood face-to-face for the very first time. Shake hands or a hug? And...oh, God - your smile looked so much sweeter in real life. Your smoky-blue eyes were even more enchanting.
Thank you, God. Oh, thank you!
"Hi," you greeted me in your warm voice. I remembered that you once told me your friend Kelly thought you had dimples when you smiled. Well, she was right.
"Hi," I replied and smiled back timidly. Thankfully, no difficult effort was required to break the ice. We began talking like we normally did online and on the phone. What a relief! You just followed me as we bought our bus tickets back to Blok M. You hardly complained, even when we had to stand on the bus all the way to Blok M. Maybe it was because you've been a traveler before, so you're quite ready for unexpected situations. I don't know.
Since I'm still living with my parents, I know that I must ask for their permission to let you stay with us for thirteen days. And I did. But, just in case they might've forgotten (especially since my sister's wedding is coming soon), I asked them again.
I texted Mom about that. Her only reply was: "Ask your dad."
I texted Dad on the bus. No reply. You looked at me and suddenly grinned.
"You're worried that your parents might not let me stay over, are you?"
"How do you know?" I gasped in embarrassment. "Am I that obvious?"
"Yeah, that look on your face." You laughed. I laughed too and just shrugged.
"If they can always let my sister bring her boyfriend home, then why can't I do the same with you?"

--- // ---

From their expressions, I could tell that my parents were shocked.
I introduced you to them. You were very polite, although my parents just smiled vaguely and hardly said a word. I knew I had to take you into my room while they were still recovering. Hehe.
From then to June 15, my room would be yours. I moved into my parents', especially since I'd wanted to give you some decent privacy you deserved.
We didn't do much that day. I just accompanied you to my favourite cybercafe nearby. (You call it 'net-bar'.) You preferred walking there, because it was sundown already and the weather wasn't too hot for you anymore. I agreed. Then I spent about thirty minutes watching you reply e-mails from your friends and family. After that, we returned home walking.
We had dinner at a ramen noodles' small dine-in close to home. You were really good with using the chopsticks. Then we went home again. Since you were tired, you went to bed early. I had to finish my lesson plan first.
Goodnight, Nick-ku. Sleep well.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!