Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-04-03 - 7:34 p.m.

I'm a freelance writer. Usually, I write for contests, magazines and other printed media. Although I've already had a few of my works published, I'm still (not) considered a famous author yet. But anyway, that still doesn't stop me from writing and trying to get my work published. That's just what I do. That's my true passion.
However, regarding my recent status, there are times when I must deal with serious problems. It's just part of reality I can't deny. One of them is my financial situation (especially since I lost my previous, regular job at a restaurant). First, unlike your most regular office jobs, you don't get your monthly salary from this. If it gets too much, you have no choice but to rely on a regular (despite rather undesirable) job for your daily basic needs. It's almost like an aspiring actor/musician/painter waiting tables before getting their first big break/gig.
Second, the star treatment. Of course, when you're already a somebody with an already best-selling novel (especially if it later becomes a blockbuster hit on big screens!), you get more acknowledgement, respect, and --- of course --- money. But what if you're still (considered) a nobody? Believe me, they're not putting your name on their first priority list. That's totally obvious and I don't need to say more. They think it's okay to let you wait long enough. Sometimes, they just want you to sit down, wait, and keep your mouth shut until you get paid. But what if they forget that and keep you waiting even longer than necessary? Well, they might easily blame you for NOT reminding them that. But if you constantly do remind them until you'll get what you're supposed to get, they might think you're being annoyingly impatient.
I've already had three of my works published in the same local magazine. Three times. Before the third charm, I had no problem at all. They promised me two weeks, and I found the money transferred into my account on time. However, with the new staff in the editorial, somehow my last paycheck still gets delayed. I've already complained to the new secretary three times and even to the new chief editor once (which --- I must admit --- in order to give the secretary a hard time for neglecting my complaint), but Ms.Chief Editor said I should check with her secretary --- AGAIN! It's been over three weeks already and I still receive...none.:( My friend Hani suggests that I keep bugging them until I get what's rightfully mine they've promised me. She said it was a class discrimination and I must fight.
I hope I'm not being impatient, but I truly need the money.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!