Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-04-01 - 3:20 p.m.

Hey, it's another new month already! April Fools' Day, I know. Last year, I had real fun with Patrick and friends at "Speak-Out's Gathering" in Surya Pemandu School, Jelambar, West Jakarta.:) It was a long time ago, but still feels like yesterday. Good times. I miss those Sunny Sundays.
Well, what about today? Honestly, I don't feel like pulling any pranks on other people. I'm just not in the mood. Or maybe, I just can't find the right victims.:P
..........................
*giggles*
But anyway, I have a pretty interesting story about last Sunday. In fact, as I'm typing this, I still find it hard to believe.:D
I've already finished reading "Unveiling Claudia" by.Daniel Keyes on Sunday. Wanting to return that book to my cousin Emir soon, I decided to show up in Panglima Polim early. My prediction was right. Emir and her parents - Uncle Asoka and Aunt Ria - showed up. After I returned the book, I had the chance to show them a local anthology with my short story in it.:) The three of them were quite impressed with how serious I am with my writing career.:P
Then suddenly, Uncle Asoka (who also gave me a free ticket to see Java Jazz Festival on early March this year) sat me down and talked to me. He said he understood why I love writing so much. It's just me and my world, he said. It's just the way I am. He knows why there are so many people out there in the world who think I'm such a total freak. The reason is very simple: they just don't get me. They don't understand me. (And I also know that some of them even won't, especially by wanting me to change and sacrifice my true idealism just to be the kind of person they want me to be.*rolls eyes*)
Surprisingly, he also suggested that I didn't need to worry too much about not getting a (stable, real) job yet. In fact, I shouldn't worry about not finding it. I can start creating my own. I should keep doing what I'm already doing and simply commit to that --- no matter what. I have the true potential that deserves to go public. He said not many people are like me. It's time to let them all know what I'm really capable of.:)
And, in order to support my writing career, Uncle Asoka promised me...one of his old PCs. But he also insisted that I MUST 100% commit to my writing career, or else he'd twist my earlobes.:P He said that if he had a heart to do that to his own sons (Emir and his older brother Rizki), he could do that to his niece.*big evil grin*
..........................
Seriously, I'd wanted to cry.:'-) I'd wanted to cry and hug him right there and then, but I knew better not to. I've known him as the expressionless man who's not into mushy stuff (probably the result of having only two sons at home!) But the great thing is, he still cares. I know he does. And I know he's meant business. He really understands me a lot, more than Dad actually does. (A sore point I must accept).
Of course, I only said thanks to him.:)
(And I only promise myself that I'll keep on writing. Enough said.)
Yesterday, I spent most of the day outside with Mom (while silently plotting a new story for my writing inside my head.) She looked rather pale in the morning, so I didn't want her to go out alone. We picked "Hoka Hoka Bento" in D'Best, Fatmawati, South Jakarta for lunch. After that, more natural color returned in her face. The food was yummy!:) I also met one of my old high school classmates Dinda. She looked beautiful. She just finished her post-grad program (oh, how I envy her!:|) and is getting married soon. She said she'd send me the invitation soon!:D
(And I'm glad that Mom didn't press that QUESTION: "How about you?"*big evil grin*)
Other than that, yesterday was pretty okay to me.:) I felt like I had the old Mom back, long before D.G. came and took her away from me.:(
And this time, I hope she stays.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!