Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-03-09 - 2:42 p.m.

Last night, I attended the second day of Java Jazz Festival 2008 in Jakarta Convention Centre, Senayan, Central Jakarta. (It's from 7-9 March, 2008.) I am not ashamed to admit that my uncle gave free tickets for The Almost Twins (my two siblings) and me. (He even gave another for my sister's fiance.) Honestly, with my irregular income as a freelance writer, it's hard to buy a ticket to see a live musical performance. Jazz is the most expensive in the city, unless if it's run by local college students --- like the popular, annual event Jazz Goes To Campus in The Faculty of Economy of University of Indonesia. Not many jazz enthusiasts can afford to see the show here, unless if they're wealthy enough or having certain close 'connections' with its committee.
I happen to be not much of a jazz enthusiast myself. I sometimes enjoy the music, but I don't have favourite musicians in that department. I also need to add my musical references.
The very first moment my brother and I showed up at JCC, it was already sometime around seven. It was also very crowded. However, there were two things that really concerned me:

1.My people's constant littering habit.

Okay, obviously --- this is an international show. The tickets are expensive and only the wealthy can buy. Many people showed up in their best outfits. Personally, I believe that they're also (supposed to be) well-educated enough. How come they were still littering? Cigarette butts, used tissues, plastic bottles...yuck!
(And I thought my country has already agreed to join the worldwide 'go-green' campaign to stop global warming from getting worse. Ironic.)

2.'Calo' (the ticket scalpers).

All the way from the parking lot to JCC, they were practically everywhere --- offering tickets twice the original price or even asking people to sell them the extra spares. Why did they exist undisturbed? Because this is just Indonesia. From tickets to out-of-town rides on public transportations to sports events and live concerts, they're there. A barricade of police officers stood to watch their surroundings, but they hardly minded the illegal ticket-sellers. Why? Well, they thought they had more crucial possibilities to worry about, like sudden mass riot, for example (although, as far as I've known from jazz history, that would barely happen --- unlike rock concerts --- eventhough beers were involved.)

As my brother and I entered the building, another surprise awaited me. Despite the fact that the committee had prepared several different trash cans to support the 'go-green' campaign, I still saw people litter. The committee staff ended up doing their responsibility, picking up the trash and put them in the suitable cans. How come?
A couple of years ago when I attended the same jazz festival, there were specific spots for smokers --- in order to tolerate other non-smoking audience. I guess such policy isn't used anymore, probably related to the sponsor's request --- although many audience brought their children along, even babies!
Okay, I think I've stated the contradiction pretty clear. But despite all of that, the show went well. Local band Souleha performed with a touch of funk, bringing obvious excitement in the audience. Santamonica was electrifying, despite a little disturbed by some statics from the sound system. George Clinton rocked the stage with 'psychadelic' style. D'Sound from Norway gave their full performance, especially with their popular track used as a cellphone ad jingle "Talking Talking".

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!