Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-02-02 - 5:02 p.m.

These days, there are no more clear barriers between films and commercials. A commercial can tell the story of a brand like a film does, and vice versa. Personally, I don't mind. I enjoy creativity, though.
However, I find myself personally disturbed at a series of a commercial in my local TV stations lately. No, I'm not going to specifically name the brand. But, if you've seen it like I have, I'm sure you'll know. It's a series of commercials about a whitening lotion that promises women that they will look flawless. Get the key words? Flawless white.

Part 1:
A couple bid farewell to each other at an airport. The girl gives the guy one of the pair necklaces with half a heart pendant that can be joined with the other.
Five years after, the girl is still on her own. But one day, she passes a couple by on the street. Surprisingly, it's her old boyfriend from the past. He catches her staring at him and suddenly feels familiar with her. However, the new girlfriend notices and somehow feels jealous and insecure. She drags him away from the gloomy old girlfriend.
Realising the reason he only vaguely recognizes her, the old girlfriend looks in the mirror and tries the whitening lotion...

- to be continued-

Part 2:
The guy and his new girlfriend visit a jewelry store. They're looking at the rings in the glassy counter. However, when he picks a ring for her, she suddenly lashes out and shows him another with a diamond on it. Then she storms out of the store, leaving him upset.
Then, he visits a flower store alone. To his surprise, his long-lost ex is working there. (Of course, she's already put the lotion on so she doesn't look gloomy anymore.) The unexpected encounter surprises her too. They both smile at each other and begin a small chat merrily like old friends. After buying the flowers, he leaves. She looks so sad.
The guy and his bitchy, materialistic girlfriend are having candle-light dinner at the fancy restaurant. It is obvious that he wants to propose her. But meanwhile, the sad ex-girlfriend at home is staring at her cellphone. Her text message is:

"I still love you."

Then the guy's cellphone suddenly beeps, distracting him from his thoughts.

-to be continued-

Part 3:
The guy checks his cellphone and reads a message from his ex:

"I hope you'll always be happy."

Doubt shatters his confidence. He quickly excuses himself away, leaving his cellphone on the table and his girlfriend alone. Her eyes radiates suspicion and distaste.
At home, the ex-girlfriend receives a hurtful reply from his cell:

"I never want to see you again."

She cries miserably. Heartbroken, she frantically packs her bag and dumps her old picture with him into the trash-can. Looks like she's going somewhere.
Back at the restaurant, the bitch puts his cellphone back on the table with a deviously satisfying smile and the evil glint in her cat-like eyes. But after that, the guy is at home alone --- looking at his cellphone in dismay.

-to be continued-

Part 4:
It turns out that he knows what his girlfriend's done.
The last message is still in 'sent items'.
Then the couple argue about it. As they pass the sad ex-girlfriend from a different escalator, he looks at her but she looks away. The bitch notices that again and slaps him in the face. It's over.
After that, he chases after his ex at the airport. When they come face-to-face, he grabs her arm --- his sappy-looking eyes obviously begging for forgiveness and another chance. She uselessly tries to push him away, but stops as her fingers meet the familiar pendant around his neck. It's the necklace she gave him five years ago.
She simply breaks down and cries. He takes her in his arms. All is simply forgiven and the old relationship renewed.

-to be continued-

So far, that's the only they've already made. Despite my genuine appreciation on their creativity, I can't help but feeling seriously irritated at the whole 'soap-opera' kind of scenes. Why?
The key words of the bran already bugs me too much. Does being (considered) flawless only mean having picture-perfect, Snow White complexion? If a girl doesn't look as fair as your favourite princess character in a bedtime story, does that mean she has the flaws?
Once again, patriarchy has played another fine role in degrading women and making them feel more insecure about themselves. My friend Hani said one day, "That stupid commercial is fooling women. They're describing women as pathetic characters. One's cunning and materialistic, the other's passive-submissive. And they're silently competing over one guy who can possibly be a jerk and do whatever the hell he likes with both of them. That's clearly unacceptable, because their message is crystal-clear: 'All women must always be prettier to satisfy men. If you want to be considered pretty, you have to be tall and slim, with picture-perfect fair complexion.' Gender-biased is what I see in it."
You may think that she and I are just taking it too seriously or being overly sensitive. Sadly, there are still many women out there who seem to take it (too) lightly and unaware of the pshycological 'side effects'. It's just a commercial, they might say. Even my aunt Menti jokingly commented, "It's up to the director, not you."
Well, hypothetically --- if I were that ex-girlfriend, I'd use the lotion and simply find another (much) better guy after that. Then I'd show him to my ex, so he'd feel sorry for having ditched me for another girl. It sounds pretty vengeful to you, but I think it'll look so much better --- like portraying more 'power' in a woman. After all, that's what most scorned women will normally do.
But hey, maybe that's just me. In reality, I'm just an ordinary tomboy with no sheer interest in becoming a diva. Maybe I'm a sarcastic feminist too, but definitely not bitter. I know I'm not tall and slim, but my tan is perfect for tropical weather. I just want my kind to be portrayed with more respect and dignity.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!