Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-01-08 - 3:37 p.m.

"What's your idea of a happy life?"

Just this morning, I tuned in to 87.6 Hard Rock FM to listen to my favourite local radio talkshow "The Powder Room". Today, they discussed about that question I just started in the first paragraph. As usual, the listeners could text their opinions to be announced on the air.
Then, what was my answer?
Honestly, it's actually one of the hardest (rethorical) questions. It's not really the same with: "What can make you feel happy?" or "What makes you happy?" Confusing? Maybe. All I know that it took me about fifteen minutes before finally texting my answer. And it wasn't exactly that accurate nor even satisfying --- at least to myself. I figured I didn't want to give a heavily serious answer that might've possibly caused the other listeners to have serious headaches in the morning. So, just for fun, my answer was:

"My idea of a happy life is to live without debts and gain financial stability through (freelance) writing."

Sounds a little too idealistic to you? Well, it sounds pretty simple to me, although I'm not sure if it also can be (considered) realistic enough.
Well, after that, I think that the question can have many different answers. I believe it all depends on what we all really need in life to cure inner anxiety. The list can go on endlessly like our New Year's resolutions if we wish. An insecure teenager's idea of a much happier life is to be more popular in school and (considered) cool enough. A poor's idea of it is to become rich, while the rich's idea is to become richer. The lonely needs company. And sometimes, even the most commited soul in their community longs for solitude to balance their life.
But is it possible that we can fully satisfy ourselves with just a little idea of two for a happier life? Are we sure we won't ask for more, like a greedy rich corruptor eating up the common citizen's rights in the country?
Maybe, I was supposed to make it less complicated than it should've been. But sometimes, the simplest thing turns out to be the hardest. Like this:

"The real idea for a happy life is to stay happy despite the obstacles in real life and be able to also create happiness for other people."

Sounds too idealistic to you? Well, I hope not. Besides, isn't happiness what we really need?

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!