Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-01-01 - 2:57 p.m.

"What's your resolution this year?"
I'm sure that's a common question we often get to hear every year --- especially sometime around the end of December and the beginning of January. Perhaps we ask that a lot to other people and silently wonder about it as well. Or maybe, we already come up with a long list of resolutions --- with a hope to make them all come true. After all, it's just a part of self-motivation to move forward and become better, isn't it?
I'm sure we're already familiar with how this whole idea usually sounds. It starts with: "I will..." and ends with many promises. It's either willing to become more religious, get a dream job, clean up our dirty bedroom more often (yikes!), or maybe...quit smoking and other habits we've already developed for years before. In other words, we just want a good kind of change. (Note: only the sick and twisted who want the opposite, I believe!)
The question is:
Why do we (still) need for another New Year for that? Why do we need such formality, when in fact changes occur a lot faster than that --- even in seconds?
Well, let's say we now have our list of resolutions in our hands (and heads, if you choose to only mentally note as you wish and really writing them down feels like such a waste of time for you.) It's still the beginning of the year. What are we going to do with it? Are we going to treat that like a regular grocery list? Find and grab what's available in front of us first before heading to another counter, or maybe another market? First things first? Or maybe, we decide to relax and wait for a while, especially since we don't actually make specific deadlines for it. The list is still in our hands. It's not going anywhere. We believe that there's still (enough) time. We can always make it up for another year, in case we don't get to do that this time.
So, what's it going to be?
"Actually, we can always make our resolutions everyday and just do it," said my brother one day. "It's more about the will instead of just the plan."
Last year, I called in during my favourite, local radio show "Speak Out" on 104.2 MS Tri FM when they discussed this topic. When Patrick (the host and later became a friend) asked me that, my answer had been rather simple:
"I just want to be more productive in my writings and relax. I think that's realistic enough."
Of course, once a resolution is fulfilled, it's even better to raise the stakes a bit higher. Stagnation leads to nowhere but self-extinction. I'm waiting for another locally, published work of mine in March 2008 and still writing.
This year, I'm after the job of my dreams. I'm working on it.
Happy New Year 2008!;)

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!