Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-12-23 - 7:16 a.m.

Alright, before I began, I'd like to recap what I've missed writing since the beginning of this month:

December 2:

Meeting Mary Jo's friend Samantha for the very first time, after a few text messages. She's a tall, 41-year-old brunette with a nice personality. She was already hanging out with Hani during lunch hour in KFC, Pondok Indah Mall, South Jakarta --- by the time I got there to catch up with them. The three of us had fun until she had to go home at four. I know she's a busy, dedicated accountant --- but I still hope that we can hang out together again.:) We'd stood by to watch a ballet recital and this seriously gorgeous guy singing with a pretty keyboardist playing next to him on a small stage by the store. Before that, Samantha had told me that she didn't really believe that good looks and an angelic voice could've possibly come together in one package...unless if he were Josh Groban.*giggles* Well, that guy had proved her wrong.*big evil grin*
Samantha even treated Hani and me to Krispy Kremes before she went home.:D (Hmm, doughnuts!*imitates Homer Simpson's dreamy tone*:P) Then Hani's friend and landlady Mbak Bina came. The three of us hung out again after Samantha left, until it was already dark outside and my time to go home.
Since Samantha's single, Hani and I can totally understand those annoying questions most nosy Indonesians love to ask:

"Are you married yet?"
"Are you still looking for the one?"
"Why not? How old are you?"
"How come?"

..........................
*deep sigh*
I know.*rolls eyes* Exhausting, isn't it?

December 9:

Attending Jiffest (Jakarta International Film Festival) 2007 at Djakarta Theatre, Thamrin, Central Jakarta with Hani and Mbak Bina. (Hani's youngest sister Ragil had finally caught up with us there at night.) We'd gotten to meet Andy, Patrick, and Hardi at Burger King. With Sysyl (who later showed up to join the guys), they watched "Elizabeth" while Hani, Mbak Bina, and I watched "The Namesake". Based on a novel by Indian author Jumpha Lahiri and directed by Mira Nair, the movie tells a simple, funny and also touching story about the clash culture experienced by an immigrant family from India residing in New York.
And I seriously want to find the novel!:D

Well, since my memory's kind of short --- thanks to my lack of writing lately, those two are the only great events I remember this month.:P I don't know, something else might pop out later.*shrugs*
Okay, then what's my recent situation these days?
I just turned 26 last month, but still haven't yet received the kind of success I truly desire. My best friend Hani thought it was mostly because I've been so worn out from working at my own family's restaurant for two years --- sadly, with overly long hours and minimum payment.:( I'm also an aspiring, freelance writer and singer. One of my short stories is about to be published locally in an anthology on March next year. Will I get lucky this time? I seriously hope so. I'm afraid to be jobless, poor, and useless. That kind of thought already scares me to death. Like I've already told some of my close friends online, having no money means you're as good as dead. You can do and get no shit. No money, no honey.
And I'm not going to let that happen, so I'll keep doing my best here. I'm still applying for a much better job. Well, wish me luck.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!