Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-10-15 - 1:20 p.m.

Alright, I haven't been writing anything for the past couple of days --- and now I'm slowly getting myself back used to it again.:P My hands are still rather stiff now, but I'll try anyway. Ugh.:|

The first day of Eid (October 13):

A celebration at Grandpa's house in Panglima Polim, South Jakarta (The Restaurant). It was fun, although tad exhausting too.:P I was very grateful for the unusually quiet traffic (since most of the residents were going out of town to celebrate Eid Mubarak with their extended families.:D) The sun was scorching pretty bad, though. Thank God I didn't have to wear a thick, tunic top or something else like that.:P
Then, before my family and I went to Granpa Bagus' place in Pondok Indah at night, we'd gone through our usual kitchen duties in Panglima Polim.:| Although I must admit that it's not my favourite task to do, I never have the heart to leave Mom all alone with it. Well, it was also because we were taking lots of menus for our family dinner at Grandpa Bagus'. Hmm, let's see. I'd peeled the potatoes (for the baked potatoes with cheese and broccoli on top), cut the red paprikas (for black-pepperred beef with paprika on top), and stirred the sweet cream mixed with mayo and liquid sugar (for the fruit salad. *slurps*:P) Wait, wait. We'd even made...orange chicken (inspired by Thai food.:D)
Feeling hungry already?:P*big evil grin*
*giggles*
The family dinner at Grandpa Bagus' turned out to be quiet festive.:D Believe it or not, I happened to be one of the main attractions of the night. Want to know why?*big evil grin*
"OMG!:O You've lost so much weight. You look so pretty.:D How did you do that?"
(I was an ugly duckling, but now I'm a beautiful swan---wait, wait!:| Let's not embrace that dumb, old-fashioned stereotype, okay?:P Swans are beautiful, but ducks are also cute. Enough said.*giggles*)
The other attractions were: Baby Millie (my cousin Dita's firstborn child --- aww!:D) and...the fireworks (our sort of family tradition, btw.*shrugs*) Since the cute infant was mostly asleep, we'd decided to leave her alone in Mommy's arms. The rest of us --- including most of my younger cousins --- simply enjoyed creating and watching fireworks. Still, we had to be careful with our surroundings, though, so nobody would get hurt and no parked cars nearby would explode. Hehe.*big evil grin*

The second day of Eid (October 14):

A major cleaning up in Panglima Polim. I ended up falling asleep with exhaustion, only to be awaken by Mom who wanted to take Dad and me out for dinner.*yawns* For chicken satay, I'd go for it!:P

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!