Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-09-03 - 9:09 p.m.

Three days before last Saturday, I'd received a call from SPICE! magazine. They said I'd won a contest again to see the premiere of "Disturbia" on September 1 at ten in the morning in Djakarta Theatre, Sarinah, Central Jakarta. YAY!!
A couple of days before Saturday, I'd gone to Wisma Kosgoro in Sudirman, Central Jakarta, to claim the prize. When I found out that I'd gotten a pair of invitations, I quickly searched for a partner. My brother was the first option, but he couldn't go. Thankfully, Hani wanted to go.;)
However, things had turned up pretty awful on that Saturday morning...well, for Hani mostly.:P Knowing she lives in Bekasi, she'd gotten stuck at the traffic (typical.*giggles*) Poor you, girl.*big evil grin* I had no problem getting there, though. It's my turf anyway, haha!
At straight ten, I entered Studio One with the rest of the lucky winners. Honestly, I'd felt a little devastated when Hani told me --- via text message --- that she might've run a little late.:| But still, I tried enjoying the movie.
Sometime during the movie, I saw a familiar figure entering the darkened studio and walking past me. Hani??:-S I'd hissed at her, but I figured she might not have heard me because she'd kept on walking. I didn't dare call her louder too, mostly because:

1.I might've possibly disturbed other audience!
2.I could've been mistaken to think it was her.:P

Anyway, how was the movie? (Beware spoilers, btw!*big evil grin*)

After his father's tragic death in a car accident, Kale Brecht (Shia LaBeouf from "Transformers") became a trouble-maker at school. The boiling point was finally reached when he was sentenced to a three-month house-arrest after assaulting a teacher.
Things got even more complicated when Kale started developing a new hobby to cure his boredom at home; spying on his neighbours. Besides getting to know new girl-next-door Ashley (Sarah Romer), Kale also started suspecting mysterious, sinister-looking Robert Turner (David Morse) as a serial killer mentioned on the news. However, no one seemed to want to take Kale seriously --- except Ashley and his best friend Ronnie. Soon the trio joined to uncover Mr.Turner's skeletons in the closet.*big evil grin*
All in all, this is a classic thriller lightened with teen comedy and modernized with more gadgets.:P I love the plot, 'though I've felt minor glitches too. The revealing of the mystery was a little too quick (but I guess it must've been some sort of editorial policy!) Carrie Anne Moss who played Kale's stressed-out mother was wearing black through the entire scenes (or was it just to portray the still grieving widow?) And why did they have to make Mr.Turner look a little too 'Hannibal Lecter'-esque --- with his white hair? It just threw the killer's profile into a cliche.

Anyway, after the movie, I'd finally met Hani.:P We both giggled at the fact that she'd been allowed to enter --- even without the actual invitation (which was still in my hand!*giggles*) That girl surely knew how to persuade the doorman.:P

On Saturday night, Mary Jo and Sara stopped by at my family's restaurant for dinner.:D Mary Jo ordered fried rice and lemon squash. (Unfortunately, I'd forgotten to ask the kitchen staff to ditch the spices, so I ended up making her unable to completely finish it. Too spicy! Sorry.*blushes*)
Sara ordered chicken teriyaki with rice and soursop juice.:) Thank God she loved those!
Then, the three of us ended up decorating the left-over chocolate muffins with colourful icings.:D That was fun! I enjoyed Sara's childlike mischief, especially when she'd teased Mary Jo and me --- pretending to spray the icings on us.*giggles* Even my parents --- who'd been around that night --- laughed pretty hard. LOL!!:P
On Sunday afternoon, we'd spent Sara's last day in Jakarta with a visit to Monumen Nasional (Monas) --- The National Monument.:D Since I was the first to show up on time (as usual!*big evil grin*),I'd decided to sit down under the statue of Prince Diponegoro on a horse (our meeting point). I read a book until Hani and Mbak Bina finally showed up.
The three of us sat by the fountain, chatting while waiting for the others to come. Finally, Mary Jo and Sara turned up a few minutes later. Thinking nobody else would've come, the five of us went straight inside the Monas --- through the tunnel. Sara had wanted to go to the top of Monas, so all of us bought the special tickets.
The underground museum just brought me childhood memories back. Those dioramas still looked so gloomy!:P
After a quick tour around the underground museum, we'd got out and joined what was supposed to be a queueing line.*rolls eyes* Ugh, Sunday sloppy visitors!:x They just littered and cut in a line. Hani and I were dead furious because of that. GRRRHHH!!! Shame on them!! Worst of all, the security guard could do nothing to keep them all in a more appropriate order. Nice job for showing us a lousy service.*rolls eyes* He had absolutely no guts for telling those who'd cut in to respect other visitors queueing already. Why? Because most of them looked more like bluffing thugs.
However, he was giving such an attitude when he came to Hani and tell her to calm down --- right after she'd angrily yelled at the people up front who had somehow pushed back pretty hard! Yeah, right.:x What was up with that? What was wrong with that picture? Honestly, I'd been almost tempted by Sara's crazy idea of creating a sudden domino effect.*big evil grin*
Hani was still fuming when the security guard took off. Seriously, I'd even had a strong urge to just slap him in the face and tell him that he'd done a banged-up job!:x But Sara was right, violence was no use. In the end, we could only chew up our snacks to reduce our anger and frustration. Sara even tried to cheer us up again by telling jokes and even making fun of that stupid security guard by saying, "He's trying to look mean. Nice try."
*big evil grin* True. When he heard me complain again about the queueing line being crossed, the security guard chose to ignore and avoid me.*scoffs* Pathetic coward!
About two hours later or so, we'd finally gotten to use the elevator.*huffs* Good. As soon as we reached the top, we got out to admire the view.:O It was so beautiful. The sky had gradually darkened as it was already four. The wind was blowing pretty hard. Cool!:D We took pictures and looked out and down between the bars.
Too bad, Mary Jo and Sara couldn't stay long.:( We'd bid farewell to them --- especially Sara. It's been fun.:) Mary Jo's moving to Bandung on September 6, though. Well, at least we'll still get to meet each other when I visit that town.
Mbak Bina, Hani, and I stayed until sometime around seven. The sky was pretty much dark now. There was this cute Caucasian guy (not so tall with lovely stubble :P) with his two friends --- a guy and a girl. When he separated with them for a while, Hani had challenged me to come up and talk to him. Want to know how it went?*giggles*

Guy:(sticking his head out between the bars to look down)
Me:"I hope you can still get your head out of it."
Guy:(pulling his head out back and staring at me with a surprised smile)
Me:(smiling back)"Yeah, because I had to ask my friend to flip my ear for that."
Guy:(chuckling)"Really?"

Okay, call that a chicklit chapter.:P His name was Jans, and he was a German on a vacation. We'd talked long enough before his friends finally turned up again.
Hehe.*giggles*:P

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!