Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-08-04 - 7:08 p.m.

Well, Kristie's gone today.:| She's flying back to Oklahoma this morning. I hope her job interview will go smoothly and that she will get the job.:) Of course, I will be praying for her success and happiness there.
And also, I hope that she and I will stay in touch. I miss her...
*deep sigh*
Anyway, I've just read a message from my friend who also witnessed the collapsing bridge in Minneapolis. Nick, I am glad that you are okay.:) Thanks for letting me know.
I haven't had a chance to talk to Tiger lately.:( The last time I heard from him, he was moving to Manchester from Leicester. I've missed him a lot...
But still, I won't let that heavily affect me.:P I must remain strong. I have to be Miss Independent. The real world I am in just has no more tolerance and space for my mere complaints. They're all already taken, I believe. I believe I have no other choice these days but to just keep on...surviving. Yeah, that's right. I may sound bitter and slightly hollow to you, but this is just my life. I'm handling my own issues in any way I possibly can.
In other words: the real world is always a crazy place (and seems to be getting even crazier), but I intend to keep my sanity as much as I can.*big evil grin*
I've finally bought myself a new SPICE! issue this morning. Nope, there's not a single page about my published writing in it.:P I am well-aware that if you are not (considered) a qualified and professional freelance writer yet, you still have to deal with uncertainties more often than true achievement/success. Believe me, sometimes it's highly unbearable. However, I am so not a quitter in this. Since I'm already way addicted to writing, I'm going to keep doing it.;)
But at least I've won a CD from a contest in that magazine about a couple of months or so.:P It's Sherina's "Primadona" (Primadonna). She used to be a local child star with a successful debut album "Andai Aku Besar Nanti" (When I Grow Up) and also a movie "Petualangan Sherina" (Sherina's Adventure). She's also a balerina (sp?) and a piano player.
And I'm curious about her new work as a teenager. Actually, I've already listened to her first single from that album "Sendiri" (Alone). It's pretty good, I guess.*shrugs* However, the tunes and the video were total disappointments, stated the local critics. Sherina was accused of copying Evanescence's lead singer Amy Lee's signature style, especially the way she dressed in that video and...the whole setting and plots. I know that Sherina sings, plays piano, and writes all of her songs in it. Since her soft voice is no match to Amy Lee's powerful one, I think those were just minor glitches. I mean, she just re-started her career.:P
But still, that video was tad...icky.:| I mean, I still can't accept that the director actually copied the plots from Muse's "Hysteria" (I don't know if you've already seen that video yet, but I am talking about that crazy dude character in a hotel room --- alone with his digicam and simply thrashing and lashing out of control like some scary psycho in B-rated flicks!*shudders*) Come on, man! Show us some personal originality here. Where's your creativity?
*rolls eyes*
Alright, enough criticizing about a local celebrity (at least for now, so no promises.*big evil grin*) How's my life and the city I live in today?
Okay, I guess.*shrugs* A public election for Jakarta's next governor is still going on, but --- unfortunately --- most residents here have already been too apathetic and sarcastic about voting in. Of course, they're already losing their trust in the government --- because it seems that things are getting worse around here. Do they actually want to risk trusting the so-called, convincing promotional flyers that say: "We'll make Jakarta a better home for everyone"?*rolls eyes* Yeah, right.*scoffs* If there's a candidate successfully getting rid of The Stupid Draft (RUU APP) and its hypocrite creators and supporters, then I'll just vote for them!
Meanwhile, I can't hardly wait for another sunny Sunday tomorrow. It's time for a fun, therapy session for me!:D

The Amateur Critic :P

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!