Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-08-03 - 8:13 p.m.

Last night was Kristie's farewell party at Hard Rock Cafe in EX Plaza, Central Jakarta. Mary Jo had texted our cellphones a day before, asking us to show up at six to give Kristie a surprise. But when I finally arrived, nobody I know from the gathering had shown up yet. I sent a text message to Andy's cellphone. He'd replied, saying he was still on the way and that I should just wait for the others to show up.
*shrugs*Okay. I decided to check out the record store across from HRC for new releases. Then I got bored and went out. Luckily, I finally spotted Ari showing up at 6:20 --- smiling and waving back at me as she was chatting on her cellphone. She even spontaneously made me talk to her friend Bruce on the phone!:O Thank God I could still manage.*giggles* Bruce is a warm-sounded guy from Minnesotta and told me about...the collapsing bridge in Minneapolis.
*gulps*
Anyway, Ari and I finally spotted Hardi and Sysyl entering HRC, so we joined them. Since Patrick once mentioned about their Indonesian teacher Ibu Vina, I wasn't surprised when I'd finally gotten to meet the lady who taught the American my people's language.:)
Then more people came. Mary Jo and Kristie showed up with their friends who've been staying in Bandung quite long --- Meredith, Jill, and Justin. I've already met Meredith once before, when she and I stayed over at Kristie and Mary Jo's place in Tanjung Duren, West Jakarta --- before Kristin's departure back to USA.
Andy finally showed up. So did Handi. And Daka too.
Dinner was great.:) The creative Sysyl asked us to write farewell notes to Kristie in a large, spiral-bound notebook. Ibu Vina had to leave early. So did Ari, because she lives in Depok and public transportations are rare after nine.:|
I'd stuck with them until nine. Lili and her guy showed up after Andy and Meredith, Jill, and Justin took off earlier. Since I knew I wouldn't see Kristie anymore after that night, I'd just wished her a safe journey home. She'll be flying back to The States this Saturday morning.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!