Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-07-03 - 4:03 p.m.

I thanked God for another sunny Sunday and a lovely Monday night --- after what seemed like the longest time!:D
In Sunday morning, I'd had to drop some catering orders off at UAI (University of Al-Azhar Indonesia) with my brother at 10:30. From there, we separated and I headed to the nearest busway stop. I took the first Trans-Jakarta bus to Harmoni as usual. I'd agreed to meet Dian first right in front of the gas station across from Ciputra Mall at twelve. Since Hani had had to attend her school event (where she teaches), she'd told me that she'd have caught up with us straight to Surya Pemandu School.
When I was still on the second bus to Jelambar, Dian suddenly texted my cellphone --- saying she was already at our meeting point way too early --- 11:30!*giggles* I'd only replied that I'd be there soon.:P
Since it was still 11:45, Dian and I decided to share a bajaj to Jl.Amanah --- where the food-stalls (warung) stand --- because she was hungry. I'd only ordered a glass of iced tea, while she was ordering a bowl of instant noodles and a glass of iced orange juice. Then, when she finally finished her lunch, we walked back to SP.
I've missed them all so much!:D Kristie and Mary Jo were genuinely surprised to see Dian and I show up pretty much earlier than usual. So did Patrick and Seth. Even Hardi and his friend Sylvia too. But the good thing is, at least we'd gotten to hear more holiday stories earlier about Patrick's trip to Yogyakarta and when he joined the others in Bali. (And I'm still filled with envy!*big evil grin*) Like the time Patrick's foot got bitten by a leech on a hike in Yogyakarta (ouch!) Or when he and Seth went surfing in Bali. Mary Jo showed us the pictures she'd taken in Bali. Way cool! The sunset she'd captured was picture-perfect!:D
Then Hani came. Our conversations switched to horror stories (Patrick's and my favourite stuff, while Mary Jo said she just didn't like it at all.) From Alfred Hitchcock's legendary movie "Psycho" to Stephen King's adaptations from his novels to movie screenplays ("It", "Firestarter", "Misery", until the not-so-good "Dreamcatcher".) And even Edgar Allen Poe's "Tell-Tale Heart" --- the story about a man who murders another with the vulture eye.
Then the conversations moved to their stories about American cultures and histories --- especially since they'd be celebrating their Fourth Of July.:) Interesting.
Who else came by?:) Janna. Rachmat and his cousin Putri. Wina and Dina. Farida. Ami. Martini. Andy (who finally showed up during our story session.)
Uh, I hope I didn't leave anybody out and unmentioned. But it would be unintentional if I really did. Sorry.*blushes*
I enjoyed the games as well!:D I was glad that Hardi and I were in the same team during "Bowl of Fortune", because he seemed to have more knowledge about the US history and places so we ended up winning the game.:P
The second game --- "Duck and Goose" --- was even more interesting and hilarious. We were sitting close as a circle, and one person gets to tap other people's shoulders (not heads like the original version, since it's considered impolite to do so in my country :P) as they went around the circle --- saying, "Duck, duck, duck..." But if they said, "Goose!" to the person they tapped on, the person who got tapped on their shoulder had to get up and chase the other --- clockwise outside the circle --- and catch them before they got to sit on the abandoned spot. I'm sure you can guess the rest.:P
When it was my turn, I picked Rachmat as the goose. (Why boys??:P I love challenges!*big evil grin*) Not wanting to get myself caught so easily, I ran as fast as possible back to my spot --- until I literally jumped down and fell quite hard on the floor. LOL!! I guess I was rather too excited. But still, that was fun!
The third game was "Who Stole The Cookie from The Cookie Jar?" It was also very funny because it was distracting your focus.*giggles* I swear to you, I can still hear our chant ringing here inside my head...:P
I stuck around much longer than usual, mostly listening to the guys talking --- and laughing at their silly doings (pinching each other's foot and pulling the hair from their legs?:P) Kristie was lounging in the couch. Handi (who came later) sat playing an acoustic guitar and challenged me to create a spontaneous song lyric and sing it (something I still can't do.:P) Mary Jo was chatting with Hani. Patrick was talking and joking around with Andy, Sylvia, Hardi, and me. Seth was mostly the quiet one, but his eyes were still gleaming with interest in other people's conversations.:)
Andy had asked Patrick to bring him more drinks to the couch from the table across the room. So did Sylvia. I even added, "Yeah, don't forget for these two beautiful girls!" Then Sylvia and I both giggled.
The funny thing is, Patrick forgot to bring more for me.:P When I got up to take some myself, he said, "Hey, why didn't you ask?"
"Well, I did --- but apparently you didn't hear," I replied (in my usually fake, British accent.*giggles*)
"Oh, I'm sorry, dah-ling." LOL!!:P OMG! Patrick's fake British accent was dead funny.
When Hardi and Sylvia were taking pictures, Patrick and I practiced what I'd already taught him that night in the pool game --- folding our upper lips backward for scary expressions! LOL!!:P Sylvia thought we both had looked seriously freaky. When I said how tanned I looked in the pictures (hehe!:P) and didn't need to sunbathe anymore, she suddenly blurted out, "Patrick, you look so pink in the face --- like a girl's..."
"Maksud loh?" (Your point is...?) Patrick replied, narrowing his blue eyes and pretending to pout. LOL!!
But the most unforgettable moment of the day was when Andy challenged Seth to eat a dead mosquito for a mere Rp 1000!:O And guess what? Seth actually did it!*gasps* Ewww!! Andy had looked rather speechless as he handed Seth the money.
LOL!!*big evil grin*
When Hani and I finally took off, it was already 5:30 pm. How unusual! Well, don't blame us for having missed them all so much.:D They're wonderful friends.
Not wanting to return home so soon, Hani and I decided to hang out at Ciputra Mall for a while. I even treated her to KFC's chocolate sundae.:) While we were standing and watching a choir group performing live there, suddenly a random girl passed a flyer to me and quickly fled. I distractedly accepted and read it:

"A DIET PROGRAM --- LOSE 10 - 30 KG IN A..."

.........................
GRRRHHH!!!:x WAS SHE IMPLYING THAT I AM STILL SO FAT?! I know that I am not a supermodel, just an ordinary 5'04 - ish girl with 140 lbs. IS THAT A PROBLEM?! GRRRHHH!!!
Hani just laughed and told me to calm down.:P Oh, well. She was right. just forget it. We can't always please the whole world, right?
At 6:15, Hani and I took off and went our separate ways.

On Monday night, I went to see "Transformers" at Blitz with some of them.:)
Since we're still training newbies at work (right after the morning staff recently quit), the restaurant still only opens half a day.:| It's a good thing that I don't overwork myself, but still...bad for business.
Since I arrived at Blitz a bit too early (8:30 pm), I'd gotten to meet and talk to familiar friends there.:) My two old high-school friends Ninuk and Baskara (from the way they held hands, I assumed they might be 'an item'.:P) My sister's friends Rizki and Gina (also and obviously a couple.) I was still chatting with them before I finally spotted Mary Jo.
Besides Mary Jo, there were also Kristie, Patrick, Seth, Hardi, Andy, Sysyl, and...Jed or J.D. (whom I've also heard on the radio sometime ago before.) Nice to meet you, Jed.;)
When Kristie handed me the tickets for a while and headed to the ladies' room, Seth --- who was standing next to me --- plainly joked, "Don't eat them."
"No, I'm not that hungry," I replied, suppressing a giggle. Then I grinned at him. "At least they're better than dead insects."
"Well, that's why I'm worried."
LOL!!*big evil grin*
How was the movie?:D Besides reminding me of childhood moments (what a great, old-school cartoons!), I love the special effects and the action sequences. Watching it felt like a crazy, wild roller-coaster ride! Also, I didn't expect that there'd be a touch of comedy instead --- but that was really worth to laugh!*giggles*
After the movie, my brother picked me up and drove us back to Panglima Polim. I finally crashed in bed at sometime after midnight.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!