Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-03-17 - 7:09 p.m.

I'll begin this entry by telling you just how freaking hot my hometown really was today.:( No kidding. I got to work in my family's restaurant as soon as possible before laziness had the chance to come and influence my will.*big evil grin* I must even drink lots and lots (yes, and LOTS) of cold water in order to avoid serious dehydration here. Hhh...*deep sigh* Our local BMG (Badan Meteorologi dan Geofisika / The Centre for Meteorology and Geophysics) has already predicted that the rainy season will stop and be replaced by the drought in April. Right.:| It's already (much too) hot in here. The weather is seriously unpredictable these days --- more than a woman's mood swings during PMS *big evil grin* (alright, I'm not making fun of my own kind here.:P Been there, felt that.)
How do I make an ordinary day feel less than boring?:) I mean, some people still assume that just because I'm running a small business with my family members --- I get to slack off a lot. No, it doesn't work that way and I also hate being a total slob. I still have my responsibilities at work and seldom get my day-offs. That's it.*shrugs*
Still, I'm looking for my big break --- somewhere out there. Someday soon (well, hopefully), I'll get my own dream job / career and just be more successful and independent. What can I say?:) I'm a struggling survivor here.*shrugs* I just don't (want to) quit easily.
I'm not Dad.:|
Anyway, I just love listening to the radio, reading books, and --- of course, this one is already obvious --- writing. I want to become a successful author someday. I'm still building up my dream career right now, bit by bit.:) From updating my journal / blog until entering writing contests, I keep practicing and polishing my skills. Practice makes perfect, remember?
Speaking of writing, I'm planning to send my job resume over to Cosmopolitan Indonesia soon.:D It's a well-known fashion and lifestyle magazine and they have openings too this month. My college best friend Pumpkin has been working there since after college graduation. He's a cool guy, even in drag.:P Maybe it'll be cool if we can reunite and work in the same place together. I truly admire Pumpkin. He writes cool, feature articles (too bad I can't really afford to buy Cosmopolitan all the time, so I don't get to read his works a lot.:| But I know damn well that he's good.:D)
There's one problem, though.:| I believe it's quite major.
I'm quite an artsy type, but not exactly in a sense of fashion.:P I'm almost like that heroine Andrea 'Andy' Sachs (Anne Hathaway) before working under the thumb of Miranda Priestley (Glenn Close) in Runway Magazine. (Btw, I still haven't watched the movie yet, but I've read "The Devil Wears Prada" --- thanks to Pumpkin who recommended and lent me the novel.:) It was way cool for a light reading people call 'chicklit'.)
Okay, so I'm more of a tomboy.:P Ironically, The Almost Twins (my girly-girl sister and my artistic brother) are much more dressed-up and visually perceptive (or sensitive?) than I am...I think.:-S I'm into grungy style. Of course, there are still times when I (can) dress up more --- but only for certain occassions. I don't do that a lot and everyday. I'm sorry to say that it's already a part of my personality.:P But I'm still damn proud of it. I don't change for anybody else but only me.
Right.:| I hope that won't be too much of a problem for them. I actually want to work in SPICE!, because they suit my idealism even more. (And I've already had my writings published in there before.:D I know they were only a poem and a short story, but that still excited me!) But I still haven't heard from them yet, after I submitted my CV and essay. I even had a dream about me hanging out with their chief editor (who's also an author of a local, successful chicklit "Soulmate.com") Ms.Jessica Huwae.:P I know it's kind of embarrassing to admit here, but maybe I just really want the dream job.*giggles*
Should I wait for their call some more?:| Time is money. I can't just sit still and do nothing here. I must do something. I must keep trying and fighting.
Whenever I feel stressed out by harsh reality, I also listen to my favourite songs and radio shows as well.:) I'm an aspiring singer too, and I believe I sound good. (My best friend Tiger says I sometimes sound like Sheryl Crow.*giggles*) However, I'm tired of rejections from stupid auditions by Indonesian Idol, only because they think I'm just not that photogenic in their subjective eyes.*rolls eyes* Oh, well.*sighs* Fine.
When I become more successful in music industry than their lovely Idols, they'll be sorry for rejecting me.:P Tiger is a talented rock musician and a creative songwriter as well.:) I can learn from him, or from my brother and his bandmates too (including his long-time best friend Ari Tutuko. He sings, plays guitar, and writes lyrics too.)
Then I'll be an indie musician too.:) I can do that.
Well, there's also this favourite radio show of mine on 104.2 MS 3 FM (a local community radio for college students in my brother's campus Trisakti University, West Jakarta.) It's called "Speak-Out", an English-speaking program hosted by a native American named Patrick (a fun, witty, and charming kind of fellow.:D) It's on from Monday to Tuesday and Thursday to Friday --- for only an hour from seven at night. For months already, I've been a loyal fan to the show (and I'm often "The First Caller" too.*giggles*) The show is like my favourite boredom-killer at work. My night-shifts will feel so long and tad dull without listening to it.
Like what happened on last Thursday and Friday night.:( Patrick and friends had to go out of town and they just couldn't find anybody available to cover up for the show.*sighs* Oh, well. They deserve the break anyway.:)
But the good news is, I'll be heading to Jelambar, West Jakarta tomorrow afternoon --- for their listeners' gathering!:D It's in Surya Pemandu School, from one until 3:30 pm. I had fun with them two weeks ago, and I just want to do it again. They're like my stress-relievers from the real world lately.
I'm not sure if I can go to their Monday night-out too.:( They've already asked me twice, but I always couldn't go. I wanted to and still do. It's just...work and money...:(

The Ordinary Girl

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!