Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-02-10 - 10:23 a.m.

Is the title for this entry rather strange or what?:P But, since I haven't written anything in a while, I'll just try to catch up as usual.
So, it's the five-year-cycle of massive flood in my beloved hometown Jakarta...again.:| We had it before, sometime back in early 2002. I remember being unable to go home one night, because the bridge in Tanah Kusir had been covered with heavy flood from the river. My family and I had to stay in Panglima Polim, but at least we were still damn lucky. I missed a few days in college, because I couldn't attend or even go anywhere easily --- thanks to the heavy traffic caused by the flood. I remember the news about grim body counts (from drowning, mostly) and leptospyrosis (sp?). I remember sending an e-mail to River all about it and he'd replied with condolences.:)
Then, what about now?
It's been going on about a week or so (and that's why I'm thankful for this fairly sunny day.:D) The flood covered the bridge in Tanah Kusir again and the streets of Cipulir. I think The Central and South Jakarta are lucky, because those weren't too badly affected by the flood. If you happen to live anywhere near the rivers here...well, swift evacuation is the only advice I could really come up with. Grim body counts? Worse than 2002.:( The government's been very slow about responding to this natural disaster. I caught a glimpse of a local newspaper's front page, where a picture of Sutiyoso hitting his own forehead in dismay was under the headline: "SUTIYOSO'S NIGHTMARE".
If you're curious as to why, it was all because Sutiyoso had openly claimed before that there wouldn't have been any five-year-cycle of massive flood this year, so nobody had to worry about it. Yeah, right.*rolls eyes* Now he's still having serious trouble taking that back, because most citizens are still badgering him with questions, complaints, and even demands.
Ha, ha.*big evil grin*
My sister was sent home early from work once, along with her two friends/co-workers Gama and Tia (if I'm not mistaken.:P) If I were her, I'd probably risk my feet in murky water, walking home to save more money since most public transportations around the main streets of Sudirman --- where her office stands --- were either fully-occupied or even just jammed. (But of course, I'd have definitely washed my feet as clean as possible --- to avoid leptospyrosis!:O) But, knowing that she's The Princess Brat, of course she never wants her feet to get wet. She'd called our brother to pick her up in a car somewhere at first, but the traffic was impossible to predict and conquer. So, she'd struggled to find a ride home --- from the overly-crowded Trans-Jakarta bus (the only bus in town she wants to use:P), the taxi, and even the bajaj (a three-wheeled vehicle you can also see in India, while Tiger and his fellow citizens in Pakistan call it a 'ruckshaw'.)
No, I didn't ask her how much she and her two friends had spent on all of those.*rolls eyes* It was absolutely none of my Goddamned business anyway, so please relax, okay?
*sneers* I know. I've been such a bitch about her lately. Well, you can't really blame me for that.
A few days ago, Tiger surprisingly called me one night.:D I was sooo happy to hear from him again! I've been missing him like crazy, although I'm trying my best to maintain my entire composure on the outside.:P I miss his warm, lovely voice.
So, anyway --- I was at The Almost Twins' shared-room upstairs with my brother, watching DVD --- the first season of "The 4400" when Tiger called. My sister was still downstairs with her boyfriend Gatot (who else??*rolls eyes*), cleaning up the aquarium together.:P
What did Tiger and I talk about on the phone, btw?:D Lots. He'd worried about me after watching the news about the massive flood in Jakarta. (How sweet.:D) I'd told him I was okay. Then, we'd mostly joked around, just like old times. Oh, God.*sighs* I miss talking to him so much. His warm voice can always soothe all my nerves. He said he was okay with his girlfriend. I'd told him where I was that night, and he was sort of joking about my brother eavesdropping on our phone conversation.*giggles*
"Nah, don't worry about him," I assured him lightly. "He's cool, a sweetheart like you."
"Wow, sounds like you two get along pretty well," he sounded amazed. "Then what about your sister?"
That did it. I felt tears slowly starting and falling down my cheeks. I noticed that my brother was still focusing his attention on TV, so I was quite relieved that he didn't see me cry. I didn't want to scare him off like that.:'-(
"Dew, what's wrong?" Tiger sensed it. "Is everything okay?"
"I want it to be okay." But it's not. I had to control my fury from rising.:x I couldn't tell Tiger the whole details, eventhough my brother couldn't understand my English accent clearly if he'd heard it then. I didn't want to sob, but I was crying...silently.
"Hey, it's going to be okay, sweetie."
In the end, I'd just promised him I'd have sent him an e-mail about it soon (which I haven't really...yet.:|) As always, he'd tried his best consoling me.:) I love him.:'-(
How could I tell him?:( Since Mom's been spoiling my sister as if she's the only precious, darling daughter she has and overly-praising Gatot as if he's completely flawless, my life has been more like my own, personal...Twilight Zone.

The Lost and Lonely Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!