Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-01-28 - 7:17 p.m.

Want to know how it went last night?:D
I arrived at Tennis Indoor Senayan at 5:30 pm, lining up with the other few people who were already in front of the festival gate. I talked to some, like the three college-aged girls standing close to me. I'd wanted to bring a digicam with me, but I couldn't find anyone who could lend me that.:'-( I also didn't have a cam in my cell. The guards were pretty fierce, not allowing any cams unless if you were part of the press gang.
When the doors were opened at seven, I dashed inside to claim the closest spot to the stage. I got it!:D Right in the middle, and I quickly used my scarf to tie my hand to the black iron gate in front of me. (I know it was crazy, but I'd wanted to stay watching them close until the end of their concert!:P)
The schedule on the ticket said eight, but the guys hadn't showed up yet.:( Oh, well.*sighs* While waiting for them, I talked to the previous female trio and a tall, skinny guy in a green army jacket and a black beanie named Angga.:) He and I had even made a small bet about which song would've come out first. My guess was: "Born To Lead". His: "Crawling In The Dark".
The answer??:P Well, after over an hour or so, suddenly the press gang filled in the alley between the stage and the audience behind the gate. The lights went out for a while and roars filled the entire hall. And then...Chris Hesse, Dan Estrin, Doug Robb, and Josh Moreo finally got on stage! YAY!!:D The press gang started taking pictures and the audience sang when they started with..."Crawling In The Dark".:D
Okay, so Angga won that bet.:P
Unfortunately, right in the middle of their first chorus, suddenly the amplifier for Dan's guitar blew up and the sound went dead.:O*gasps* Oh, dear. They had to stop and the stage crew rushed on stage to fix it. I noticed Dan's glum expression and thought, Uh-oh. He'd looked so upset.:( Meanwhile, Doug apologized to the audience and asked us to have patience. He tried cheering us up, especially with his greetings --- a little in our language too.
"Apa kabar?" (How are you?) he'd asked.
"Baik!" (Fine!) we answered cheerfully.:D
After the amp was being fixed and Dan's guitar was on again, I hollered, "Play that again!" But they decided to move on to "Out Of Control". When we followed their chorus in "Running Away", Doug complimented us, "Bagus!" (Great!) Then they also played "Never There", "Up And Gone", "Just One", "Inside Of You", "Born To Lead", "The First Of Me", "If I Were You", and "Look Where We Are". In "Moving Forward", Doug (who was also playing guitar in several songs) asked us to: "Nyanyi sama-sama!" (Sing together!)
When they took a short break, we roared, "We want more! We want more!" over and over again --- until the guys came back, of course.:D This time, Josh played electric bass/cello for their next song "More Than A Memory" (my favourite ballad from their third album!:D) Then they rocked again with "Same Direction", "Pieces"/"Give It Back" (medley), and "Remember Me".
Ooh, they also gave us their cover version of Bon Jovi's "Living On A Prayer" --- my favourite rock track as well!:D Very nice. After that, Doug asked cheerfully, "Do you guys know how to sing this song?"
"Bring it on!" I yelled excitedly. Then they played "The Reason". I gave a big grin to Josh and he just smiled back at me when he noticed. Awww!:D The trio next to me all shrieked, "Oh, my God! Josh is sooo cute!"
*giggles*
Before they played their last song, Doug introduced each member. When he approached Chris sitting behind the drums, one of the trio next to me hissed, "Hey, yesterday was Chris' birthday!"
"Really?" I stared at her. When she nodded, the two of us yelled to the stage, "Happy birthday, Chris! Happy belated birthday, Chris!"
Doug heard it too and he smiled, saying, "Oh, yeah. It was Chris' birthday." The crowd cheered and sang "Happy Birthday" to Chris, who just smiled shyly. Doug grinned and patted his blond head, jokingly asking, "So how old are you now, man? Twenty-six?"
"Thirty-three!" shouted the girl next to me. I couldn't help but giggle. (Btw, I must say that Chris does look much younger and more handsome with his clean-shaven look.;D)
I felt sad when they said they were going to play their last song for the night.*snifs*:'-( That beautiful moment had to end anyway.:(
Guess what their last song was?*giggles*
"Crawling In The Dark" --- replayed but this time completely...lol...
The show finally ended at 10:30. I came home alone.
Thanks for coming again to my hometown Hoobastank!:D May you keep rocking.

love,
The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!