Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-09-26 - 7:01 p.m.

Ki called me sometime around nine last night, but I couldn't greet him in the restaurant because it was already closed for the day and I just had to go home. He said he'd come again this evening at 8:30. There might be something he wanted to discuss with me, I suppose.
There's also something about Ki to tell here. The first time he came to my family's restaurant was on a quiet Saturday night. He'd ordered iced lemon tea and we ended up chatting and laughing...and smoking (umm, have I told you I already quit?:|...Alright, alright, I only took two!*blushes*)
But that night, he'd made a confession too:
"Btw...I'm gay."
"Oh." My reaction was very calm. I nodded. "I'm not that surprised."
"You aren't??" He was genuinely shocked. I'd told him about Pumpkin and Dave (my two gay friends I'd met back in college) then, and we ended up talking and giggling again. We'd even managed to mentally challenge my sister's conservative friend Ami (it's a guy, actually --- because 'Ami' is short for his full first name 'Islami') about his stereotypical perceptions about gays.*big evil grin* Ami's actually a nice fellow. I was glad he didn't end up bashing Ki right in front of me.:) He was fair.
Well, once Ki has 'come out' about his sexual preferences, not everyone he knows is as open-minded as he wished them to be.:| I guess his mother has taken it real hard. I get the impression --- from his side of story --- that she's still in denial, trying to set him up with any girl all the time. And it just irks him. After a fight, he'd gone to see me the night before The Fasting Month and just poured his heart out on me.
But what can I do? I am not a moralist. I can't tell him what to do like others do. Mostly, I only listen and be a friend.
At least, he knows I won't back off with repulsion and disgust like some people in my beloved country of hypocrites do.*rolls eyes*

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!