Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-08-30 - 7:03 p.m.

I was sooo tired last night I skipped a French horror movie "Belphegor" on TV last night. Why was I sure it was French? 'Though it was clearly dubbed in English, the whole setting was mainly in Paris --- including The Louvre Museum (like one of the settings in "The Da Vinci Code". Interesting museum I'd like to visit someday.:D) And there was Sophie Marceau when she was much younger. She's like the European beauty icon.:) As an actress, she certainly has both elegance and grace. Cool.
Oh, wait.:P I forgot that this week would be horror flicks every night on that local TV station.:D I love horror movies! When I was six, I started watching that TV series "Friday The 13th" (not the one with the hockey-masked serial killer Jason Voorhees, but the one with the "Curious Goods" antiques' store). My parents had been worried it might've possibly affected my mental health, believing I was still way too young to watch any of that.*big evil grin* The cursed objects and the grotesque consequences weren't ever really that scary to me, but I'd always been genuinely fascinated by the close friendship between the three owners of the shop --- 'though they'd been strangers to each other in the beginning. Distant cousins Ryan Dallion (John D.LeMay) and Michelle 'Micki' Foster (Louise Robey), along with Jack Marshak (Chris Wiggins). After two years, Johnny Ventura (Steven Monarque) stepped in as the main cast --- replacing Ryan (J.D.) who left the show (but his last episode was very sad!:'-|)
Then came other cool stuff like "The Twilight Zone" (Old and New), "The Outer Limits", "The Night Vision", and lots more.:D I even watched "Forever Knight", "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" (I love the series much better!), "Angel", and "Tales From The Crypt".*giggles* In junior high, I often hung out with the best girlfriends ever: Neda, Puchi, Yanti, Novi, Hanne, and Dian. But I'd felt closest with Neda and Puchi.:) With Neda, we exchanged horror novels and discussed them --- from R.L.Stine to Stephen King. With Puchi, we'd watched "Village of The Damned" and "Species".
*sighs* Those old days seemed much easier.:) Although I'd started having a serious crush on my rock band's guitar player Nanda when I turned fourteen, I didn't take love that seriously.:P
I guess that's why I always create courageous female characters in the stories I write.:) Girls like Micki Foster and Buffy Summers are way cool. They seem fearless but still manage to spark their true femininity.
I watch local movies here, and some of their main female characters are kind of total let-downs.:( They are often merely described as complete weaklings and easier preys to be hunted, bullied, and...killed.:|*rolls eyes* It seems like all they (can) do are screaming, crying, whining, running, or combinations of all.:P You know, it's either shrinking behind their male companions while facing the demons or twitching in the corner, hopelessly pleading, "Oh, my God! Please don't hurt me! Please don't kill me! Help!"
Or, if they want to make the girl look powerful, the only thing they often do is to make her...the bad character.*rolls eyes* The she-demon (like kuntilanak). The bitch. Anything evil-related. It's like extreme comparison. The good girls (always) have to be sweet, fragile, and suffering and waiting for their prince-charming/knight in shining armour to simply rescue them and make them happy in the end. The bad girls are much more powerful, dangerous, hateable, and just must be banished for good.
Yeah, right.*scoffs* If a girl violates at least one from the so-called "good" girls' major characteristics (as approved by society) here, they'll see and simply treat her as 'different'. Is different (considered) always bad? Why don't you tell me? I haven't really been in 'the good girl' cathegory like my sister often is, and that's why I'm also (considered) a freak in their eyes. Well, that's okay. Fine, I think.*shrugs* At least, I'm still trying my best to stay true to myself. I don't like to pretend just to get the guys' attention, but I only show my weaknesses to those I truly trust. Damsels in distress don't last that long in real life. Trust me, they'll only annoy guys more.:(
I know, maybe I'm being rather unrealistic again.:P I'm also inspired by my favourite author Mary Higgins Clark. (Okay, this isn't a horror series, but more of a regular thriller/mystery/detective-like.:D) She's like the modern version of Agatha Christie, but she often uses extremely brilliant and brave female heroines. They're not the hysterical type, eventhough facing the killers and realizing they're not physically fit enough to beat the bad guys.:P These ladies don't easily fret or show a hint of fear, even when they know they're facing possible death anytime soon and it's just plain normal for any human being to feel scared by it. They just rely on their luck and all they've got to stay alive. Now I truly respect women like that!:D
I hope I can be like that too, instead of just complaining.*blushes*:(
Nightmares are on-screen (especially this week:P), but real life's always been scarier. I just hope we'll survive in the end --- like the main characters in the movies...*big evil grin*

The Thoughtful Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!