Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-08-23 - 7:17 p.m.

Alright, I'm out only a day early from when I'm supposed to be.:P But I just can't stand being still, quaranteened (sp?) at home for a week (okay, actually for a week and a day less).
Chicken pox was a real bitch.:| It's really best to have it as earlier as possible, like when you're a teenager or even a smaller kid.*big evil grin*
I miss writing so much.:| I miss the internet. I didn't really get the proper chance to celebrate my brother's 23rd birthday.:( I was sent home last Thursday afternoon right after I'd found a spot on my forehead. Having treated Dad and my brother earlier, Mom instantly recognized it.
So, I'm not going to blab out all about my chicken pox days at home, because that'll make this such a boring entry. So, I'll only give you a short recap of some Teenlit novels I've read at home (light readings borrowed from my cousin Dinda).:D

"DEALOVA"
by.Dyan Nuranindya

I read this twice already, and it was quite good.:) It's a story of a high-school's girls' basketball team captain named Karra. This scruffy-but-lovely tomboy gets along well with her older brother Iraz and also his college pal/bandmate Ibel. But when obnoxious hunk Dira enters her high-school and also the basketball team, the feud between the two sparks heavily.
Why does Dira always love getting on her nerves? Karra wonders with genuine irritation. But things change when she discovers her nemesis' real feelings for her, behind his entire ugly attitude...

My comment:
It's also already a motion picture here, but the book is MUCH better.:P I was disappointed with the movie, because it seemed they had trouble interpreting the whole concept of the story.:( They also picked the wrong casts for the wrong main characters. It was a complete mismatch. Worst of all, they made the sassy, tomboy Niki look like a regular college bitch --- not a tough, big-hearted girl I love from the original story.*thumbs down*

"ANAK BAND" (The Band-mates)
by.Stephanie Zen

Amanda Giselle is your ordinary high-school girl. She's fun, friendly, and very expressive. She idolizes Hugo, the lead singer of a popular, Surabayan rock band named Exist. But when she and another Exist fan/new friend Tessa manage to sneak into the backstage after the band's show, the two girls are deeply disappointed to learn that Hugo's reacting ugly on them.
Since that ugly incident, Amanda decides not to get herself involved with any band members. But when Tessa's friend David starts showing interest on her, Amanda hesitates. David is also a lead singer of a rising, Surabayan rock band named Revans. Revans is also one of the contestants for the reality TV show "The Real Band".
Could David just be another Hugo, or someone much better? Is romance between a future celebrity and an ordinary girl even a possibility?

My comment:
This is actually more potential for a moving screenplay.:) I love the theme (especially since it's about rock bands and all...I love singing and rock music too.;D) The lyrics are also cool. But the ending somehow feels too abrupt (perhaps from the editing process:P), a bit sugar-coated with cliches/predictabilities. But other than that, I love this light and fun tale.:)

Uh, since I'm also still working on my own Teenlit novel, I hope none of these books I've read might affect the plots I've been creating...*giggles*

"MY LULLABY"
by.Vie

Hmm, I must say this one is rather cliche.:( Sorry to say, but I'm just trying my best to be objective.
Aby is a senior in high-school. Her life changes since she's started receiving anonymous love poems and flowers. Her best friends Retna, Cicit, and Hani suggest an investigation to find the secret admirer.
When a popular, brilliant hunk Are confesses as the author behind the anonymous love poems, Aby hesitates. What does Mr.Perfect like him ever really see in her? Aby's also overcome with confusion, since she's also emotionally attached to her childhood hero Wika.
If only choosing weren't this hard...

My comment:
*huffs* It's obvious that the author was heavily inspired by the successful local movie "A2DC?" (Ada Apa Dengan Cinta? --- What Is It With Cinta/Love?) 'Though the plot is completely different and there are poetic words in it, I couldn't help but thinking, "Come on, girl...I'm sure you can do a lot better than this." I can't even see this as a romantic comedy. Too cliche.

Well, that's all for today's review for the Teenlit novels.;P

The Soon-To-Be (Well, Hopefully Real) Author :P

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!