Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-04-12 - 7:40 p.m.

I've been familiar with the graveyard of Tanah Kusir, South Jakarta, ever since I was about five. I went to school passing by the area on both sides of the main road, and I could see lots of tombstones. I returned home --- sometimes at night --- and looked out the car window. Growing up as a child who enjoyed horror stories, I'd often had scary, vivid imaginations about that graveyard area at night. There had been 'stories' about it from people around (even my brother got one from a friend *big evil grin*), but that's not what I want to talk about now.:P Next Halloween, perhaps?
Anyway, what I'm trying to say is, passing by the graveyard for so many times has sort of reminded me a lot about death. Well, as scary as it seems, I find myself hard to admit it is. I mean, we all know this is just a mortal life, right? Sooner or later, we're all going to die anyway. I'm talking about the final destination. If that is the case, then why should we fear death? Besides, I'm a Muslim. I'm not supposed to be a coward when it comes to this unavoidable thing. Jihad, that's what my people say.
I've had relatives buried there. My two grandmoms, Grandpa Bendi, and even Mom's best friend Mrs.Dahlia.
Today's another. My Aunt Una just passed away last night, after years of struggling with cancer. I've felt quite relieved I got my chance to see her one last time in an ICU at Pondok Indah Hospital, South Jakarta, eventhough she was no longer responsive.:(
Rest in peace...

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!